Recipe Review: Cheesy Chicken and Corn Pizza

It probably won’t come as a surprise to you that a pizza made with corn, chicken, tomatillo salsa and sour cream tasted good. But I wouldn’t recommend following this recipe without adding some caveats and notes.

  1. This recipe calls for 1 lb. of dough, spread over a large skillet. I spread it out over a full-size cookie sheet and the crust ended up being pretty substantial. If you are not a thick-crust fan, you may want consider using less dough.
  2. You are asked to use fresh corn. Do you have to use fresh corn? NOPE. I think it adds unnecessary work to a dish where corn is competing with other strong flavors and is not necessarily the star. Frozen or even canned would work FINE.
  3. When the pizza is done, you have the option of serving with extra sour cream (or Mexican crema) and salsa drizzled on top. Do not skip this option. It adds so much flavor. I would also recommend thinning sour cream (if you use it) and drizzling it over the entire pizza.
  4. The recipe does not call for it, but I think adding a crumbly Mexican cheese (like Queso Fresco or Cojita) would be great in addition to or in place of the sour cream. Feta would work, too.
  5. It calls for a 25 minute cooking time. This was too much (for my oven). I would recommend knocking it down by at least 5 minutes and checking the doneness frequently from there on out.

Even with all these caveats, I’m still strongly recommending this recipe, because–woof!–is it tasty and it’s just…different, you know? It was a nice switch-up.

Leave a comment