A Peach and Some Herbs

I’m planning on writing an entry about using the food that I buy before it goes bad, which, considering there are starving people in the world, I consider almost a sacred duty. In the meantime, I want to discuss herb-keepers. Are they worth the money? Do they actually do what they’re supposed to do? The answer is “yes” and “yes.” Especially if you’re someone like me who only makes a couple of big shopping trips a month. If you’re not an urban shopper who grabs what s/he needs every couple of days, keeping the cilantro from sliming over is crucial.

There’s no sophisticated alien technology at work here. (Because the first thing aliens would want to do is keep their Italian parsley fresh–DUH.) It’s really just a matter of keeping the  the stems wet while letting a bit of air circulate around the leaves. But alien technology or no, it works. I put some tarragon (and parsley and cilantro) in my herb keepers, and they stayed perky and green for two–creeping into 3–weeks. That’s pretty impressive.

So, yeah, they’re worth the money and the teeny tiny bit of effort it keeps to trim the stems and “plant” them in the keepers. Definitely a life-saver for those us who treasure the inimitable flavor fresh herbs lend to a dish.

 

In other news…

Evan is thinking about getting a degree in Shopping Cart Engineering. Already he fancies himself an expert.

“Let’s get this show on the road. After this, I have more carts to arrange AND PERFECT.”

You sure you want to put that there? I think that’s a grave mistake.

“Lets…just…move this here…and this goes over here. Aaaah. Better.”

“Sir. Bag Man. I do not like the cut of your jib. This is bush league work here. Bush league.”*

“Listen, I’m just passionate about my art. We OK? OK. Thank you for understanding. Good day, sir.”

*Totally a joke. I think working at check-out counter is hard, largely-thankless work, and I would NEVER be a douche to someone who earns a paycheck doing it.

10 thoughts on “A Peach and Some Herbs

  1. *Totally a joke. I think working at check-out counter is hard, largely-thankless work, and I would NEVER be a douche to someone who earns a paycheck doing it.

    I often stop by a supermarket that’s open until 2AM after work, and have got to know a lot of the cashiers. One of them worked for us as a seasonal temp, and b.s.ing with her “broke the ice” for me and her co-workers. It’s weird being in the store around 1AM, a lot of the stocking goes on at that hour.

  2. Pingback: How Not to Waste Food « Super Karate Monkey Death Car

Leave a Reply

