Recipe Review: Asian Tofu Salad

Yesterday, there was nothing lunchy in the house to eat, so I decided get creative and Googled recipes for “Asian Tofu Salad.” I ended up making this, a fried tofu-topped salad of greens, cukes and carrots.

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 2 teaspoons reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon toasted sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 14-ounce package extra-firm, water-packed tofu, rinsed, patted dry and cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 8 cups mixed salad greens
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled, halved lengthwise and sliced
  • 1 large cucumber, chopped

 

It was really, really tasty.

It took 10 or so minutes* to throw together and I loved the fact that the quick dressing acted as both frying oil and dressing.

I had to do a little tweaking to the recipe because I didn’t have everything it called for on hand. Did not have sesame oil. It was great without it, but I’d sure love to try it with next time. I also substituted romaine lettuce for the mixed greens. Which was fine. Finally, I added a tiny dash of Sambal Oelek and red pepper flakes to the dressing because that’s just how I roll. I’m impish and terrible.

All in all, this is a pretty terrific recipe: healthy, easy to make and extremely tasty. Unfortunately, it’s not terribly filling. So don’t be surprised if you eat every bit of it yourself. I mean, it’s basically tofu and lettuce, so I wouldn’t feel too guilty about it.

 

*all my produce is pre-washed by moi, so that really saves time

4 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Asian Tofu Salad

Leave a Reply

