Moats and Gates

A couple quick links…

I think this should be required reading. It’s a snarky yet poignant personal tale about having “adventures with the rich.” I don’t know about you all, but it seems weird to me that wealthy folks are so often heralded as people worth emulating; so many of them seem like such huge assholes.

Here’s a geekfight, of sorts. Actually, it’s a fight about what geeks are (ladies, your admission into the club is conditional!) , and who gets to be the geek gatekeeper. I would never in a million years refer to myself as a geek, because I find the label obnoxious (and really just way a to give yourself a pat on the back for being a big fan of something). But if I ever decide to join the geek club, I’ll  knock you over and kick you in the head if you try to keep me out. YOU don’t decide who a geek is; we all decide for ourselves, thanksverymuch.  Not considering myself a geek, I’m on the periphery of all this drama…but I tend to find this sort of thing fascinating. Perhaps you do, too.

13 thoughts on “Moats and Gates

  1. The really weird thing about the “gated community” wealthy is that they can’t wall everything off- global warming will hit them, even if they try to mitigate it’s effects, they’ll eventually fail. Maybe it’s time to re-read The Drowned World (Smut bait).

    I would never in a million years refer to myself as a geek, because I find the label obnoxious (and really just way a to give yourself a pat on the back for being a big fan of something)

    Yeah, I think it’s time to reject labels. I sure enjoy being an egghead, but I really don’t want to be associated with a lot of the MRA/Fear of Girls baggage that seems to go along with a certain subset of geekdom.

      • Wait, what’s an Egghead, again? I’ve lost track. Myself, I love the Geek/Nerd labels. It was considered an insult when I was playing D&D in middle school, but I feel like it’s been “taken back” these last few years, which I dig.
        And while I enjoy looking at/kissing/gettin’ freaky with pretty girls as much as the next straight guy, I’m with BBBB on that; I don’t ever want to get caught standing next to one of those MRA jagoffs, much less be associated with ’em. Self-loathing people of any kind weird me out, but self-loathing gay dudes just seem sad.

      • I think that’s one of the reasons I don’t care for labels–so many of them are so imprecise and tend to lose their meaning over time.

        I’ve always thought of eggheads as smarty-pants people who like to immerse themselves in whatever studies interest them. I don’t associate geekdom with smarts. Almost everyone geeks out to something…and a lot of those somethings aren’t indicative of higher intellect.

  2. Down here in my neck of the woods we actually have a gated community INSIDE a gated community. Apparently the .1% felt the need to show how superior they are to the 1%.

  3. (Smut bait).
    It’s not enough just to mention a Ballard book. It has to be the 1965 Penguin edition of the Ballard book, the one with the Tanguy painting as the cover art.

  4. But if I ever decide to join the geek club

    I don’t think it’s possible in Peacock’s sense. I mean at some point you have to not know what’s going on and learn and Peacock seems to want people who are fully-formed in their likes.

    Big surprise, clubs are exclusionary. I’ve been reading a little about the Thunderfoot mess and for a lot of people it just seems to be about what team to play for, not about who might be right or wrong. Surprise, atheists, believing things uncritically is a problem.

    • I don’t think it’s possible in Peacock’s sense. I mean at some point you have to not know what’s going on and learn and Peacock seems to want people who are fully-formed in their likes.

      That’s a great point. What about people who are dipping their toes into geeky waters? Are they allowed?

      I did a teeny bit of reading on Thunderfoot and it looks as though the guy is humongous asshole dripping in privilege.

Leave a Reply

