Knock Knock. Who’s there? Your Produce Drawer.

Knock Knock.

Who’s there?

Your produce drawer.

My producer drawer who?

Can you be serious for a minute? Stuff’s rotting  in here.

Yikes. Leave the comedy to Mitt Romney, Produce Drawer.

Monkey butlers are nice, sure, but nothing beats a personal Chef-Cat!

 

I sometimes find that the most interesting, tasty food I make is the stuff I come up with when the cupboards are starting to get bare and I’m bored with every recipe in my arsenal.

I shop twice a month. That’s it. Two trips a month. To be sure, it’s a big haul…and I don’t like going to the grocery store every other day (I know…how very  suburban) so, as not to waste food, I make things according to what needs to be used before it goes bad. I really do loathe losing good produce, and I rarely do. I almost never throw anything out, and I’m really proud of that.

So here are the last two genius recipes I came up with while our refrigerator emptied out… Some things I need to use up? Naan bread, loaf of nice Italian bakery bread, a bunch kale, boneless, skinless chicken breasts, a tomato, a container of  half-used Feta. I also managed to use up a few other ingredients that were almost gone and/or on their last legs.

Curried Chicken Pizza with Feta

For this recipe, I essentially  made Curried Chicken (chicken sauteed with good quality Madras curry powder, cumin, garlic, and sliced onions and bell pepper)  but undercooked everything slightly.

For crust, I used Naan bread

On the bread, I spread this mixture:

1/3 cup apricot jam, melted with

a bit of olive oil and

roasted cumin.

I cooked these ingredients together to get the raw taste out of the cumin and to soften and liquify the jam.

So I spread a THIN layer (the pie should be savory, not sweet!) on the pizza, along with the curried chicken and veggies (use a slotted spoon, so as not to get your crust wet), along with a chopped tomato and parsley and the Feta cheese. (Yeah, didn’t have cilantro…the parsley worked fine in a pinch.)

I cooked the pizzas at around 500 degrees for roughly 15 minutes. Just amazeballs good.

Pasta with Two Sauces (Marinara & Kale Pesto with Toasted Walnuts)

I cooked up some Rotini.

I blanched the kale & toasted the walnuts.

These both went into the food processor with garlic, Parmesan cheese, S&P, and  probably 1/4-1/3 cup of extra-virgin olive oil.

The marinara was good quality store-bought.

I spooned the sauces over separate little piles of the pasta, and served everything with the toasted Italian bread, rubbed with garlic and drizzled with olive oil.

Skeptical about Kale Pesto? OMG, don’t be. *drool*

Dreaming of the day I can taste Kale Pesto

17 thoughts on “Knock Knock. Who’s there? Your Produce Drawer.

  1. So, the tender delicious babbie isn’t ready yet? It does make sense to fatten him up with some solid foods, however that lovey blissful smile IS a brilliant defense mechanism that seems to be working. I can’t see myself cooking him. I just can’t. Rats. I’d rather tickle him and make him laugh. What is happening to me? GASP! He put a spell on me!!!

  2. I eat a lot of kale- in the garden at one of our worksites, the kale has survived the winter, and I judiciously “prune” a leaf or two once in a while. Have you ever made kale chips? Just “paint” a shallow baking pan with some olive oil and put a layer of kale on it, throw it in a slow oven and bake until crispy… damn, that’s good stuff.

    My two go-to kale dishes are beef and tofu stir fried with kale and onions, with soy sauce, sesame oil, and a ton of garlic; and kale with white beans, simmered with onion, carrot, celery, bay leaf, and a ton of garlic.

Leave a Reply

