More on the Greek Garbler

I read the Poulos pieces. I found them both extremely difficult to understand. When I say that, I don’t mean it a ha ha funny way, I mean I actually found most portions the essays undecipherable. That his writing is pompous and pretentious is obvious, but that it is just plain unreadable is inexcusable. I mean, when I was reading them I kept asking myself stuff like “Am I missing something here?” “Do I need to work on my reading comprehension skills?” “Am I secretly stupid?” “Have I forgotten how to read?” Because–I swear–that mess just came off as something I imagine William F. Buckley writing after huffing some spray paint. It was almost poetry in its own weird, bad way.

SO, I was glad that Crooked Timber weighed in. The relief for me was learning that–assuming the author is correct in his interpretation– when I accidentally stumbled across a decipherable point Poulos was making, I was actually correct in detecting an actual point. Hallelujah! I’m not stupid or insane!

What I thought Poulos was saying in the most labored, pretentious, roundabout way was this:

 Women, being all soft and sensitive and mothery and shit, should act as a civilizing force on men.

According to Poulos, men are brutes, sure, but they are the DOERS in our society. We women? We’re the sitter-backers and supporters of these brutish but brilliant creatures. Men, you go out there and follow your dreams. DO! SEE! CONQUER! CREATE! BE BRILLIANT! And when you get done doing, seeing, conquering, creating and brillianting, we’ll be here to pop out your babies and tenderly mop your brows. So that you may return to the battlefield of  life. A battlefield that’s probably just a little too rough for us nature-bound mother-creatures.

Some astute comments from the CT thread include the observation that someone like Poulos would never think to ask what men are for or what Black people are for, because that would be deeply offensive. But I guess, in the end, we women don’t count as people, so his question is acceptable. Another commenter notes that what Poulos is hinting at is that women should essentially serve as a support staff for men. Put your dreams and ambitions on  hold, ladies–THE MENZ ARE BRILLIANTLY BRUTISHLY BRUTING!

Before I wrap up, I’d just like gently remind people who advocate that women take a passive role in life that you cannot have it both ways. You cannot ask that women do “women’s stuff” and at the same time devalue and denigrate things that are thought of as “woman’s work.” A lot of woman’s work is dreadfully hard, boring, and unrewarding.

It's also never done.

And we do not value it. We do not appreciate it. So perhaps we should we should address that before anything else.

15 thoughts on “More on the Greek Garbler

  1. One thing I learned from Poulos’ post is that left to themselves, grunty malebeast culture is wont to “objectify and instrumentalize people”. Apparently this is a BAD BAD THING, so it is only meet that women should be objectified and instrumentalized into the task of preventing it.
    I also learned to recycle my comments from CT.

    A lot of woman’s work is dreadfully hard, boring, and unrewarding.
    You get the best drugs, though..
    C/o Boing Boing.

      • Every non-alcoholic woman needs a well-stocked bar so that she can reward herself with a little taste of oblivion after tending to every tiny little detail of another person’s life all day long. It’s a noble and proud thing to do, but egad it’s tedious and repetitive sometimes.
        What makes taking care of tender, delicious babbies so rewarding is their occasional hilarity and that non-stop innocence.

    • Uh huh. My mother had been prescribed Valium since she was sixteen years old. It took me a long time to figure out why I had to explain to her what day it was so often. Those blackouts were a bitch.

      Womenz now get cocktails with one medication that is being heavily advertised on television, one off-shelf (because the females are SO HARD to treat— they’re all so particular and eccentric in their ______ (insert new word for hysteria)), and one re-engineered classic (so the patent hasn’t worn off yet).

  2. Well, now I think I know who wrote the blurb on the back cover of Sign of the Labrys.

    I think the biggest problem about Poulos’ piece is that he views women’s lives as being defined by men. He’s the kind of asshole who would object to criticism by making a stupid analogy, “How can I hate and disdain women? I think they are as lofty and luminous as the moon!” never minding that the moon merely reflects the sun’s light. Why can’t a woman shine on her own, ya stupid gobdaw?

  3. when I accidentally stumbled across a decipherable point Poulos was making, I was actually correct in detecting an actual point

    Zackly. That was the only decipherable point in that mess. And what a load of crap it was, too.

Leave a Reply

