Lamp and Flower Casserole

More proof that Phineas and Ferb is just a straight-up great show…

Around 5:50 this morning, I’m sitting in bed with my son before we go down for bottle and diaper change –his, not mine…mine come later in the day–etc. So I turn on the TV and Phineas and Ferb is on. (It always is. I think it’s the only show they run on the Disney Channel.)

Moby Dick!

The modern-day Captain Ahab of our tale. She will bust her brothers or look silly trying!

Anyway, Candace is putting something foodish in the oven. Why, I don’t know– I only caught the tail-end of the show. She’s following a recipe that calls for a lamp and “2 cups of self-righteous flowers.”  Her best friend, Stacy, expresses doubt about Candace’s recipe, saying she doesn’t even know what self-righteous flowers are, to which Candace responds–HILARIOUSLY (because Candace is the best and funniest character and I’ll fight anyone who says otherwise)–that she always thought roses were pretty snooty. I’m sorry, but that is comedy platinum right there, even if the writers are on crack. Everybody knows that orchids are the snootiest flowers, what with their being high maintenance and their upturned stamens and stuff. They think they’re SO HOT. GOD, I HATE THEM SO MUCH!

Well, anyway, I’d be awfully surprised if the muse did not visit at least one of the writers in his dreams, tantalizing him with her beautiful, confusing, confounding poetry…

9 thoughts on “Lamp and Flower Casserole

Leave a Reply

