Real Women Don’t Eat Souffle

I haven’t talked about fewd in awhile. I’d like to start reviewing the food I make on a more regular basis, especially new recipes by other cooks/chefs.

Last night I made Pea Risotto with Squashy Souffle.

Squashy Pea Risotto 2012--NEVAR FORGET!!

I made it because I’m always looking to incorporate more vegetarian dishes into my diet. It’s hard because hubby is a meat and potatoes guy. Well, I did not pay close attention the details of the the recipe. Hell, I didn’t even pay close attention to the title, which plainly says it’s comprised of two notoriously fussy food types (risotto and souffle). Anyway, I ended up spending an hour or so in the kitchen, and that did not include the 45 minute cooking time.

It was a lot of work for a dish that was sublimely terrible. First of all, it was heavy as hell. Eggy souffle on top of creamy rice? No. Just no. Second of all, it called for an insane (I’m not being hyperbolic here) amount of Parmesean cheese. But instead of it imparting the nutty, salty, sweet flavor it normally does, it just made the squash souffle taste both bland and salty, very one-note. The two stars of this dish should have been the peas and squash, but they were lost underneath all the creaminess and cheesiness. I really couldn’t taste them at all. So what promised to be an interesting, satisfying vegetarian dish ended up tasting like cafeteria food. And, frankly, I’ve had better cafeteria food.

I decided that the dish needed WAY less cheese…along with some sort of added sweetness or acidity. A little wine in the risotto? A little lemon juice? And it just plain needed way more peas.

So, yeah, I give this recipe several thumbs down. Yes, even my vestigial ass-thumb is turned downward for this one.

BTW, if anyone would like an invitation to Pinterest–which I’m enjoying immensely–just say so. I’ll hook you up.

18 thoughts on “Real Women Don’t Eat Souffle

  1. If you couldn’t taste the squash, I’d call that a success.

    I ended up spending an hour or so in the kitchen, and that did not include the 45 minute cooking time.

    This is why foodie-ing just isn’t worth the bovver. If it takes longer to set up than to eat it’s counter-productive.

  2. I’ve never tackled a souffle- they seem so damn fragile, I know I’d open up the oven, and the damn thing would collapse like Herman Cain’s campaign.

    I usually do more vegetarian stuff in the summer, when eating cold stuff like hummus and baba ghanouj is more appropriate. I haven’t made falafel in a while, now that I think of it.

    One of my favorite vegetarian dishes is pureed carrots, mixed with eggs and a cheddar cheese sauce, then baked until a knife inserted in the mix comes out clean. It’s really good with peas with caramelized onions.

    In the summer, one of my favorite dishes is boiled potatoes, and string beans served with a serious amount of extra virgin olive oil and a fuckton of raw garlic… sublime!

    • A couple questions, if you’ll humor me…

      1.) I’ve never made falafel. How do you make yours?

      2.) OK, WHAT is that second dish? I’m not a big fan of egg dishes, but that sounds so good.

      Also, how did you come up with that potato dish? Is that a thing? Is it something you just came up with? What do you serve with it?

      Have you every had pasta with caramelized onions, peas and Parmesan? YUM!!!

  3. I’ve only made a souffle once-chocolate of course. The kids came charging in though the kitchen and I guess we all know what happened, right? I’ve never attempted it again.

    You know, I’m not a “pea person”. I think that it’s because everytime I make something my husband mumbles between mouthfulls.. “Needs peas!”. Yeah, I’m pretty sure that’s what has turned me against them.

    You did a beautiful job visually with this though. Upon first glance, I thought that it looked quite appealing.
    Live and learn, right?

    I’m on Pinterest too.. I need to find you now that I know you’re there….

    ((Hugs))
    Laura

  4. 1.) I’ve never made falafel. How do you make yours?

    I soak a bag of chickpeas overnight, then grind them in batches in the food processor. Then I cut up an onion or two and add it to the chickpea mixture, along with a whole head of garlic, then grind it in batches in the food processor. Then I add a bunch of flat-leaf parsley leaves to the chickpea mixture and grind it in batches, then I add a pinch of baking powder, a ton of ground coriander, a couple of tablespoons of cumin, and other spices to taste (cayenne pepper, paprika, black pepper, sometimes fenugreek) and- you got it- grind it in batches. The resultant mix should be the texture of slightly moist wheat germ. Then you roll it into balls, or form into little patties, and fry the bejeebers out of them- they should be a dark golden brown. Serve them with tahini sauce, pita, a salad, and a couple of other side dishes- hummus, baba ghanouj (puree of charred eggplant with tahini, lemon and garlic), and tahini-yogurt-lemon juice dip.

    2.) OK, WHAT is that second dish? I’m not a big fan of egg dishes, but that sounds so good.

    I’d describe it best as a casserole- you boil up a fuckton of carrots (I usually do 3 pounds), then puree them. Make your basic bechamel sauce, and melt some cheddar cheese into it, then fold the cheese sauce into the carrot mixture, then throw in two or three eggs to bind everything together. It should taste primarily of carrots, but with a hint of “something’s going on here.”

    Also, how did you come up with that potato dish? Is that a thing? Is it something you just came up with? What do you serve with it?

    The potato dish is an old family favorite, it can be served hot or at room temperature, as a side to just about everything. The heat of the boiled potatoes barely cooks the fuckton of garlic that you throw in, really releasing the fragrance. For this dish, I spring for the really good olive oil, the bright green kind… it looks gorgeous when you pour it on the potatoes.

  5. Pingback: This One’s for the Ladies « Super Karate Monkey Death Car

Leave a Reply

