My Awfulness Reflects Poorly on You All

Since wingnuts are fond of using anecdotal evidence as proof that all liberals are big meanie poo-poo heads, I thought I would offer up another anecdote for them to use in conjunction with the one* they’re already gay-aborting the life out of.

Here’s what happened: My mother-in-law, who is a fairly devout Catholic–also about as awesome MIL a person could hope to have–she’s lovely**–, gave me a manger scene ornament carved out of olive wood to celebrate the birth of my son. I took the ornament, threw it at her face, and screamed “DON’T YOU KNOW I’M AN ATHEIST, YOU STUPID COW?!” Then I placed it on the floor and took a dump on it.

OK, that’s not exactly what happened. Here’s what really happened: I smiled at her, thanked her for it, asked about the significance olive wood, and later hung it on my Christmas tree.

Oh, wait. This story won’t be good for the ‘nutters to use AT ALL. Oh dear.

*BTW, taking a 20-week-old fetus home to your children is weird and possibly traumatizing for the Jr. Frothy Mixtures.

**She also knows I am not a person of faith and is respectful of that

7 thoughts on “My Awfulness Reflects Poorly on You All

  1. I’m not anti-religion per se, I just don’t want anybody’s religion used as the law of the land. Hell, I don’t want anybody’s religion to be the law of any land.

    • I am anti-religion. It’s just that you can’t make people let go of religion. You have to let them decide to do that for themselves…and not be surprised or angry if they don’t decide to do that. ‘Cuz they probably won’t. Nothing I can do about that.

    • Yep. I’m anti-religion, but the lovely daughter was (on the spur of the moment) an angel at the Anglican church over Christmas, and was yakking with Joseph while she was supposed to be part of the heavenly host.

      She is completely clueless about what went on, but it’s a part of the culture and if she wants to do that it’s cool. I’m glad she wasn’t babbling about not believing while angeling, but I didn’t hear what she said and Joseph didn’t look all that pleased.

      • Yeah, I mean, I think you kind of have to accommodate and let people come to their own conclusions about this stuff.

        I am stealing the term “angeling.”

        And I’m convinced you’re currently one o’ the best dads in the world.

  2. OK, that’s not exactly what happened. Here’s what really happened: I smiled at her, thanked her for it, asked about the significance olive wood, and later hung it on my Christmas tree.

    Count on that part being excised from the commercial ANYONE.BUT.VS PAC is going to run.
    ~

Leave a Reply

