What My Monkey-Strong Bowels Were Telling Me

Oh.

It occurred to me that some of you might enjoy an explanation of this blog’s new title. It’s one I’ve wanted to use for awhile, but since I already had a blog registered under “Smorgasbord…” at Blooger, I just kept that.

 

Anyway, the title comes from an episode of one of my all-time favorite TV shows, NewsRadio. (Note for Thunder and other TV-less, superior, wine-sipping, arugula-molesting, liberal elitists: A TV is that square thing that emits pictures and sounds.)

I won’t bore you with too many details –although, I of course, would not be bored, merely DELIGHTED– but in the aforementioned episode, one of the characters has a book published, first in English, then in Japanese, then back to English. You can see where kookiness would ensue, no? Yes, SOME THINGS WERE LOST IN TRANSLATION! FUNNY!

Hence, “Super Karate Monkey Death Car,” which, even if it weren’t a sitcom episode would be a superb blog title. Or group. Or video game. Or car.

21 thoughts on “What My Monkey-Strong Bowels Were Telling Me

  1. Oh, dawg. I laughed so hard my diaphragm hurts. The diaphragm. that. makes. my. lungs—

    I GOTTA FIND THIS SHOW ON THE INTERNET.

    Have you heard about the Pepsi billboard campaign that made sales drop like a safe from a window because no one realized before it was plastered all over the place that their “Pepsi brings your taste to life” slogan was being read as “Pepsi brings your dead ancestors back from the grave”? It was one of many tales of the side effects of overzealous and uninformed efforts at early global marketing.

  2. Pingback: television. comedy. languages. | My Life in Order

  3. Note for Thunder and other TV-less, superior, wine-sipping, arugula-molesting, liberal elitists

    Hey, now, I guzzle wine, and that arugula was of the age of consent, so watch it!

    one of the characters has a book published, first in English, then in Japanese, then back to English.

    This would be a hell of a lot of fun to do on Babelfish.

    • I have had season tickets foe a local minor league hockey team for several years. My all time favorite player for the everblades has moved on to the Swedish elite league. I now follow his carreer through online translations of Swedish web pages. It usually goes something like this:

      “Equally Location in periods and objectives for the last act – but in the third period took Växjö Lakers command right after Steve Saviano stepped into the offensive zone and beautiful skin prick shot up 2-1.”

    • And just for fun here is the phrase “This would be a hell of a lot of fun to do on Babelfish.” after I used Babelfish to translate it to Japanese and back again:

      This should do with Babelfish, they are many pleasures.

  4. Pingback: Babel Fish Seppuku « Super Karate Monkey Death Car

Leave a Reply

