When I’m Not Tending to My Child, I Dominatrix for a Living

Sad? Embarrassing? Awesome? You be the judge. I’ve been checking in on a thread (about a sexist advertising campaign) at Pharyngula all day. No, I’m not going to link it. It was one of those threads I will heretofore refer to as Lighted Cockroach threads. Because it shines a light on  all the sexist assholes in the skeptic community (at least the ones who hang out on that blog) who then scurry around the thread being generally disgusting and bothersome.

Anyway, I’ve been more vocal than usual in the thread. (I usually am in lurk-mode only at Pharyngula.) And I have been called out!

If they’re like you then good I don’t want them anyway. The people to feel sorry for are the guys interested in you. They would have to be pathetically masochistic to want to be with you. Someone should save them from your torture.

I actually feel sorry for this guy. I think he’s young, not terribly bright and not terribly popular with women. In a few years, he could be a completely different, awesome guy. Who knows? But the imagery of my going around randomly torturing men was too amusing for me not to share.

48 thoughts on “When I’m Not Tending to My Child, I Dominatrix for a Living

  1. I know, right?!!!!! And, damn, how about some WYSIWYG editing up in this bitch*?*No, I normally really dislike gendered insults, but I don't mean it that way and everyone here knows it.

  2. You trolled me? Make up your mind. Are you a troll or a zombie?The ads don't read as satire at all. They read as what some dumb ad exec thought was "meta" or "snarky," but its really just a cover to be outrageously misogynistic…like those Pepper 10 ads.

  3. no, I don't see them as satire, either. I said 'spoofy' which isn't quite an actual spoof, but spoof-like, in the sense of Colbert's truthiness.The whole thread conflates spoof and satire, AND IT IRRITATES A ZOMBIE.Let's get that pedant Smut Clyde up in here.

  4. Yeah, they're not exactly the same thing, are they. But my question–to the asshats–is still: What are they spoofing or satirizing? It's not beer ads, which tend to be, like, manly-man, women in bikinis shit. This ad addresses neither of these memes.

  5. no, your point is valid. I was only saying that it would move towards spoof if the ads were not actually placed. As it is, they wasted money on the Cosmo placement, which I am sure is not cheap, to reinforce the male-side ad for no gain. NOT placing the ads would at least exhibit awareness.Also, am I wrong in thinking that a fair number of women might also react kind of negatively toward the "sweater-puppies" visual?In any case, bad ad firm. BAD!

  6. Also, am I wrong in thinking that a fair number of women might also react kind of negatively toward the "sweater-puppies" visual?I don't find the visual completely without appeal…but it's kind of hack-y and silly. And, the guy, while handsome, borders on pretty. Plus, the assumption that all women like hunky men and puppies? GMAB. We tend to be more complex.

  7. Another guy compared me to Ken Ham (the crazy guy from Australia who opened the Creation Museum…which, omg, I wish I could have talked Substance into visiting on his trek). This for asking for proof that the Molson execs intended for the ad to be a spoof. He could not produce this proof, only an article where a reporter used the word "spoof,' which he INFERRED. NOT. CREDIBLE. FUCKING. PROOF.

  8. they tend to be humorless.Ah, you have noticed the salient feature of the Pharyngula environment. I have commented there, using other nym of "Teutonic title + Teutonic surname" — a combination I like because no-one can then claim to be surprised that my comments are pompous and pedantic — but I was out-pomped. Also they are easily trolled. And no-one laughs at my jokes.Let's get that pedant Smut Clyde up in here.Went out walking in the hills today. Legs sore now. Need moar beer.

  9. What's wrong with not noticing?I don't know why I find this so funny, but I do. pretty soon, vs is going to have a whole post in the title, and the post itself will be one word, maybe a smiley.It's called minimalist posting!!!! ><^

  10. She's changed the fonts and such again! I am going to lie down with a cold compress on my forehead.I was done baiting Smut with my fancy fonts. Unless he's some fascist who has something against Times New Roman.

  11. They would have to be pathetically masochistic to want to be with you. Someone should save them from your torture.Oh, no, not the lamb chops! NOT THE LAMB CHOPS!!!! Such cruelty, such horror! Why do the funny jokes seem to occur to me when the thread is moribund?

  12. Against my better judgement I went and looked at the PZ thread. The underlying theme of the advertising campaign appeared to be "Human beings are dumb and superficial and easily manipulated through their emotions, that's why you like our beer."The campaign seems like a foot-bullet but it won't do any harm to the advertising agency; if anything it might win them an industry prize for for "innovation". Advertising is full of perverse incentives like that.VS knows about perverse incentives.

Leave a Reply

