Next Thing You Know Another Kiwi Will Be Donning Skinny Jeans and Drinking that Starbucks Coffee I’ve Heard So Much About

How hip is poet/lady-killer/all around superb human being Another Kiwi? Pretty goddamn hip.

He introduced me to these guys months ago. And now they’re playing on The Colbert Report (a show which can skew fairly hip from time to time).

I think their music is overwhelmingly beautiful. Please listen.

The Colbert Report Mon – Thurs 11:30pm / 10:30c
Tinariwen – “Tenere Taqqim Tossam”
www.colbertnation.com
http://media.mtvnservices.com/mgid:cms:item:comedycentral.com:403249
Colbert Report Full Episodes Political Humor & Satire Blog Video Archive

I really do pay attention to what you guys say, music-wise.

12 thoughts on “Next Thing You Know Another Kiwi Will Be Donning Skinny Jeans and Drinking that Starbucks Coffee I’ve Heard So Much About

  1. Since comedy Central will not play in Canada, I had to go onto the YOUSGUYS tube and find it there!So glad that I did. I love that kind of music. Pretty awesome. I could never be a hipster. I've got too much junk in the trunk for those skinny jeans. :)((Hugs))Laura

  2. It's not just you. I think EVERYONE looks horrible in skinny jeans. You don't have Comedy Central in Canada? That's a damn shame. Actually, no. A lot its programming is crap…and you can watch Futurama, Daily Show and Colbert Report online, I'm sure.

  3. We have our own comedy channel. We probably get all of the same shows as you and I'm sure with some cable package, I could get the American channel if I wanted it.I don't think Comedy Central is licenced to play online in Canada. Hopefully, someday that will change so hard working Mom's like me won't have to go searching. You're right about the jeans. Even really thin people look kinda bad in them. ((Hugs))Laura

  4. Fortunately I don't like coffee of any kind, so I will never be hip enough to wear skinny jeans. Or could I still be a hipster if I wear a kilt and drink beer. I will probably still need a skinny kilt and some special beer from a particular micro brewery though.

  5. Four instruments. Four guys who clap and sing. Everyone in the garb they feel comfortable in, yet they all work together in the same band. It's as if they're just dedicated to being musical artists and not becoming a parody of commercial success for men. Or maybe they're towing the Middle-Eastern version of "rock star" and hip machismo, but they appear to me to be NOT victims of fashion. Don't get me wrong. I adore Marilyn Manson and the Stones, and performance art but that was the most straight-forward and pure performances by male musicians I've seen in a long time. Those kiwi guys that were linked to on Sadlyno were down to earth, too, and making total fun of the phenomenon. It's refreshing to see men being musical artists without being on the "don't you want me to fuck you?" circuit.

  6. VS and Mr. Bastard are very good at sharing in real life and also funny and talented online. I think what the innernet is for is sharing stuff.Tinariwen are going to be here in the summer but I don't think I will be able to see them. Such is life.Pfffft, skinny jeans would kill me.

Leave a Reply

