Pop Kultcha Saturday

My last entry was going to be about what’s new and good on the idiot box, but I was distracted by shiny things Beastmaster General, Marc Singer.

There are a couple of shows I’m watching (when I can) that are genuinely worth a gander.  The first is Allen Gregory.

This show works because the main character is truly an asshole. Not a pull-your-punches asshole or secretly-kinda-nice asshole but an actual over-privileged spoiled brat pretentious creepily precocious  asshole. And he’s really, really funny. Yes, occasionally he has moments of “Ok, I guess I have to root for him now” humanity, but really he is just an insufferable little jerk. THAT. IS. FUNNY.

Also worth a look is “American Horror Story.” The first episode I saw left me kind of cold, even though it was genuinely scary. It seemed too busy, too cacophonous, like each scene was trying to out-creep the scene before it. I was also convinced that it was going to suffer from what I like to call “X-Files Syndrome,” wherein a show throws out a bunch of really neat, intriguing teasers, subplots that you think will be picked up and resolved at some point, only to have them dropped like a hot potato. I was happy to learn that this show actually follows through–at a shockingly fast rate–on its promises. There are no dropped storylines. Things are explained. Things are followed up on. It’s really refreshing. And, oh yeah, the show is fun, creepy, dark, fast-paced and satisfying to watch. Every episode has had more than one “NO WAY!” reveal and/or plot twist. I’m incredibly impressed.

22 thoughts on “Pop Kultcha Saturday

  1. VS at S,N:[Bebe-dancing is] where the really short, chubby, drooly people attempt to dance by vaguely bounding up and down in place.Friday night we went to a Clean concert (these being a classic NZ band from 30 years ago). Let's just say that there was a fair bit of this in the audience.

  2. I've pulled down the entire Invader Zim series from Netflix. Verrry clever and entertaining (and a little disturbing) and it comes in bite-sized chunks you can watch 15 minutes at a time which suits both my time availability and attention span.Ooh, shiny!

  3. "Invader Zim?" Sounds like Hentai. May give it a chance. Friday night we went to a Clean concert (these being a classic NZ band from 30 years ago). Let's just say that there was a fair bit of this in the audience.Tee hee! I'm sure!

  4. I remember liking "American Gothic," too…and I kept meaning to yank your sleeve about "American Horror Story." You could have knocked me over with a feather when I found myself really liking it.

  5. You could have knocked me over with a feather when I found myself really liking it.Not enough zombies though. But since there is already a WHOLE WEEKLY SHOW about zombies, Imma let it go. At least the show doesn't have vampires.

  6. Anyways, piffle on this commercial frippery. We are going to see the local opera company do "Music Man" tonight.We'll see how Norman Moses stacks up against Robert Preston. He is aided, of course, by the fact that Preston's most sublime performance is in S.O.B., not Music Man.

Leave a Reply

