Crimes of the Hot

I like to make wings because wings are fun. I have perfected a recipe for hot wings that’s pretty popular at Casa de Slayer. I’ve tried to make other types of wings, but whenever I propose the idea to Mr. Slayer, he makes that pbbbpppphhhhttt sound that sounds like a fart. Hot wings it is! So you’d think that when I ask him to pick up hot sauce at the store for me, he’d get the right kind.


Pop Quiz: Of the 3 hot sauces displayed here, which do you choose for hot wings sauce?

The answer is Frank’s RedHot. Tabasco is also acceptable. Mr. Slayer brought home Texas Pete. WTF? Who uses Texas Pete?

26 thoughts on “Crimes of the Hot

  1. Perhaps it was the sexy cowboy with the whip action that made him choose the wrong one.I know that it would probably confuse me. I mean really… all that sex-eh? in one tiny little cowboy man!((Hugs))Laura

  2. Hubby is heat-averse, so this works in my favor.I've never really understood why people who don't like hot food want Buffalo wings. The moar authentic teh Thai food is, teh moar likely I am to have it "mild please", so glass houses and all.Anyways, if I were in your situation, I'd make a second wing sauce flavoured however you want. It's not that much moar work, and you can explore your creative cooking tendencies while your heat-adverse husband eats his "hot" wings. Plus he'll probably try at least one of the other wings and if you do it right you won't have to hear teh ppbbppnffffttttfftftt fart EVAR again.

  3. And nevermind about honey-garlic. Surely you're moar adventuresome than that.Soy, hoisin, green onion, lemongrass and sesame wings.Jif and sambal satay wings.Jerk chicken wings.Tandoori wings or Wings Tikka Masala.Wings Poutine with gravy and cheese curds.Okay, maybe not that last one.

  4. Soy, hoisin, green onion, lemongrass and sesame wings.Jif and sambal satay wings.Jerk chicken wings.Tandoori wings or Wings Tikka Masala.Oh no, you're preachin' to the choir. I want to do all those and more. I think the idea of whipping together two sauces at once is really clever. Don't know why I didn't think of it before. Furthermore, since everybody's mentioning their favorite hot sauces, I'd like to tinker with my recipe by swapping out Frank's with theirs.

  5. There's a place in San Jose (on Santa Clara down by the university) that has over a THOUSAND different kinds of hot sauce. I spent seven months just down the street in a residential recovery facility and I checked 'em all out. Here's the final answer:Orange or Yellow Habanero sauces from Belize are consistently the best. If they have a hand-drawn label (sharpie on blank white label stock, never more than three colors, sometimes just black), start with those. GENTLY. The flavors and complexity are incredible. In fact, I am rather "heat averse" too, but the best flavors are some of the hottest sauces, so you just have to:1.) Be judicious in the amount you useand2.) Suck it up, fer crissakes – in the long run, we're all dead anyway…

  6. Dinner tonight is smoked sausage with Cannalinni bean puree. Can o'beans, drained, tossed in olive oil with finely diced shallots and a clove of garlic with a couple tbsp of chicken stock and some fresh tarragon. And just to gild that lilly I'm topping it with a couple of very runny poached eggs boiled with a bay leaf.Then I'm gonna stomp around the living room and beat my chest – I be the freakin PLUTONIUM Chef…

  7. Oh no, you're preachin' to the choir.Well I do read your blog, so I've got a bit of an idea about your attitude to cookeries.How many chicken wings do you make for dinner? A couple pounds? Something liek eight wings per person. Totes enough bits of meat to go with a second, or even a third sauce.Teh mom-in-law cooks shit-tons of balsamic vinegar down to a glaze and keeps teh reduction in a squeeze bottle in her fridge. BOOM – instant sauce. Grate some citrus zest on top if you want to make it look liek you did moar than just pull a bottle from teh fridge and squeeze it onto teh wings (WHICH IS ALL THAT YOU'RE ACTUALLY GONNA DO).

  8. With all the poopy and butt talk around these parts, that choice seems really appropriate. BTW, I LOVE that balsamic vinegar trick. It's a great way to take not expensive balsamic and make it taste like it is!

Leave a Reply

