An A-men-dumb

Amanda Marcotte does a fine job of eviscerating a Katie Roiphe (no, I’m not linking) column in which the latter apparently is kinda miffed that women can’t–gee whiz!–get a sense of humor and enjoy the kooky, colorful jungle that is navigating sexual harassment. Because she does such a good job of ripping to shreds this spectacularly, like, omg-is-this-woman-even-capable-of-wiping-her-own-ass-level stupid column, I’m left with little to add but this:

I, too, really really really hate, with a white-hot passion that burns like a thousand suns, women who are misogynists because they are desperate for validation from men. The prototypical, “I’m not like those other, killjoy women, YOU GUUUUUUUUYSS!!! Pay attention to me!!!” women. They are ass. Yes. Ass.

Here’s the thing: I consider myself an androphile, a lover of men. I’ve been boy-crazy since I was six. And apparently I never grew out of it. I like the way men look, talk, move. I sometimes think that men doing things that are stereotypically male is sexy. I’m seriously whorish about men who play instruments or are really into music. (I mean, not actively whorish, ‘cuz, hey, old married lady here…and who has the time?…but in my head–WOWZA!!!) I like it that some men don’t think I’m hideously ugly, that I occasionally get attention from men. Validation, even. I love men. And I can love men and enjoy their attention, and even occasionally their validation without hating other women. Oh, hell, I can actually…*gulp* like other women, and value what they say, do and contribute to the world. It’s something the Katie Roiphes of the world should look into, because it makes life much richer, fuller and more pleasant.

Also, too, go fuck yourself, Katie Roiphe. You are truly fucktardedly stupid.

In other news, I am about to eat this salad:

I sometimes get disturbingly excited about eating rabbit food.

In still other news, I wanted to share this formative song from my late teendom. I always thought it was amazing…and the sampling of the Blood, Sweat and Tears song, “Spinning Wheel” was nothing less than genius.

21 thoughts on “An A-men-dumb

  1. This post is in proper blog order!…women who are misogynists because they are desperate for validation from men. And the WaPo, and the Times, are so eager to search out and publish it. To me it rhymes somewhat with their eagerness to publish, "Even though I'm a Democrat/liberal/blah-blah, the Republicans are actually right about…" (followed by some thing they are, of course, heinously wrong about).~

  2. To me it rhymes somewhat with their eagerness to publish, "Even though I'm a Democrat/liberal/blah-blah, the Republicans are actually right about…" (followed by some thing they are, of course, heinously wrong about).It's like Pat Caddell and Dick Morris appearing on Fox News to ratfink on the Dems, too.

  3. I love men too-always have. I'm a terrible flirt. Attention whore some might say… :PI try not to be that way but, it's just who I am. I can't fight it, I've tried. The way you wrote it, how you see yourself, made me feel better. I thought that there was something wrong with me-it helps to know that there are others like me.. ((Hugs))Laura

  4. I've some issues reconciling my ardent feminism with my relationship to men, but then I kind of said "fuck it, I'm entitled to relate to men the way I want to, and if someone has a problem with that, too bad, I guess." I yam what I yam.

  5. Reconcile feminism with my love of men? I'm that feminist in a french maid outfit that some cartoon character's dad fantasized about, and a former bus magnet. Some of what I said at LGM about Little Miss Harass Me Please:, in working situations, women have done more to bring me down than men, because a cultural/social habit of many women is being backstabbing and indirect when dealing with other women in the workplace. When I work in otherwise all male or male dominated jobs I don’t suffer from sexual harassment because I say directly what I will and will not tolerate and all the men I’ve worked with have respected both my limits and the fact that I spelled them out clearly.I think the next logical move for feminism is for women to face the fact that we have all been betrayed, abused, used, and have had our reputations tarnished by us as much as by any man. In the meantime, men could work out their relationships among themselves.

  6. You got chick peas and broad beans there. This can only lead to trouble.Cats and dogs is all I'm saying.VS I appreciate you and your attitudes and although I don't share your enjoyment of males, in general, it's your choice and good on you. PPS: I keep forgetting that new suck based word you introduced into the blogaquarium, can you remember?

  7. In a pod? That's close quarters. Close enough to pinch your ass. Hey! Lighten up, bbkf! Have a sense of humor!who doesn't mind a pinch in the ass now and again? not me!and yes, laura and wiley, there is more room in this pod…if vs would get her knockers out of the way…

  8. PPS: I keep forgetting that new suck based word you introduced into the blogaquarium, can you remember?I wanna say "suckbake?"I actually know several men who prefer the company of women to men for whatever reason…

  9. I think the next logical move for feminism is for women to face the fact that we have all been betrayed, abused, used, and have had our reputations tarnished by us as much as by any man. Yeah, but I don't think that's the fault of feminism so much as women refusing to take a feminist stance on things and view women as sisters. It's the LACK of feminism that's the problem there. And I think it's great that you've had so much success with dealing with men. Not all women are so lucky and we have to vigilant about situations where women face a hostile workspace.

  10. and view women as sisters. It's the LACK of feminism that's the problem there. i could not agree more…i keep hoping that as women break new barriers in the workplace and also stop bowing to the pressure to be married or at least in a relationship that this part will get better…

  11. Well yeah, the lack of feminism amongst women can be as damaging as the lack of feminism among men. I can't tell you how many times women came running up to me and telling me about some shitty thing a man did to them, and I finally figured out that a lot of my anger was not even my own, those women were having me express it for them so that they did not have to sully themselves with it and take responsibility for it, so finally I said "STOP! TELL HIM ABOUT IT AND STOP CRYING TO ME ABOUT IT. IF IT'S CLUMSY AT FIRST—THEN FINE—THAT'S HOW I LEARNED. THAT'S HOW ANYBODY LEARNS ANYTHING—PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE."

Leave a Reply

