Salad as Sammich? That’s MADNESS!

Last night I made the yummiest thing. It was Salad Nicoise sammiches and Nicoise Potato Salad.

I wish I’d come up with it on my own, but I didn’t. I saw a recipe for it in Food Network Magazine, messed around with it, elevated it, and then made my own.

Basically what I did was make Salad Nicoise with canned tuna in olive oil. Normally Salad Nicoise is a composed salad, but I just mixed the following, chopped-into-bite-size, ingredients together with the tuna.

Hard-boiled eggs
Cooked ’til just-tender green beans
Halved cherry tomatoes
Thinly-sliced scallions
Kalamata olives

 I tossed everything together with this vinaigrette (except I added some capers and used dried oregano):

  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium shallot, minced
  • 1 Tbsp minced fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 Tbsp minced fresh basil leaves
  • 2 teaspoons minced fresh oregano leaves
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

I served this mixture on toasted Kaiser rolls. I put a teeny bit of mayo on one side of the roll, but if you are mayo-averse, by all means, leave it out. 

I was an idiot and forgot to add some sort of lettuce. Doesn’t matter, it was still A-MAZ-ING. If you’d like to not be an idiot, butter lettuce, watercress or baby arugula would all be great additions.

I reserved some of the dressing and tossed it with some cooked red potatoes and celery hearts (with their leaves). Protip: While potatoes are still hot, sprinkle them with a little vinegar, salt and pepper, the mixture sinks into the potatoes and adds an extra layer of flavor. (Potatoes are dull; they need all the help they can get.)

This dinner was unbelievably yummy…and it was one of those things I felt especially good about eating because it has a bunch of good-for-you things in it.

26 thoughts on “Salad as Sammich? That’s MADNESS!

  1. Sounds awesome- gotta love those Provencal types! One of my favorite simple dishes is boiled potatoes with string beans, tossed with a buttload of raw minced garlic while still hot, then drizzled with a generous amount of extra-version olive oil. Salt to taste, of course. Damn, is that good!

  2. Mmmm Mmmm Mmmm! That looks, and sounds amazing! I love stuff like that. Unfortunately, my kids don't so, I don't enjoy it nearly often enough. :(I thought that I would come over and say "Hello" since I seem to have moved into your blogging circle somewhat. :)((Hugs))Laura

  3. OMFSM, it sounds so awesome I am now hungry damn it!Potatoes are dull; they need all the help they can get. No shit, the Ball n' Chain is a major potato nut and I find those suckers boring and tasteless. Great idea..who knew you were such a magnificent cook? Not moi..but I do now. 😉

  4. Pan bagnat is quintessential beach food for me. When all the bloody Parisians have disappeared off to the restaurants at midday to eat boiled mussels and chips in 40°C temperatures, you can be down on an empty beach getting oil and dressing down your arms and drinking chilled red with it. Then wash the mess off in the sea.

  5. I thought that I would come over and say "Hello" since I seem to have moved into your blogging circle somewhat. :)((Hugs))LauraHi, Laura!I'm wondering how stuff like this will go over when my little guy is big enough to eat it…

  6. No shit, the Ball n' Chain is a major potato nut and I find those suckers boring and tasteless.I talk about food a lot, cuz it's one of my favorite things. I actually LOVE potatoes…but, yeah, you've SERIOUSLY got to amp them up. If you're ever stumped, I say just make "smashed" potatoes with lots of butter, sour cream, buttermilk, salt and pepper, fresh herbs and sometimes stuff like goat or Parmesan or blue cheese. THAT'LL make a potato convert out of you!

  7. (Want some real greens with kick? Try mustard greens. Of course, these can easily overpower all the other delicious ingredients you've made those sammiches with!)I've never had mustard greens and would absolutely be up for trying them. I haven't met a green I haven't liked yet.

  8. Pan bagnat is quintessential beach food for me.It's funny you should say that. After I posted this entry, I was thinking to myself "Ya know, this sammich sounds an AWFUL lot like Pan Bagnat. Some people will hardly find it novel." OH WELL!!!

  9. My favorite leafy green is lambs' quarters, because they grow all over my neighborhood. They are comparable to spinach, but they are free, free, FREE.You know, I'm REALLY getting intrigued re: foraging. I think that is so neat. Given the opportunity, I'd absolutely try Lamb's Quarters.

  10. You know, I'm REALLY getting intrigued re: foraging. The key thing to keep in mind is elevation above mean sidewalk.Dog pee is not your friend.I used to steal Rosemary in Saratoga – you quickly learned to steal from the TOP of the bush…

  11. Dog pee is a DELICACY in some countries.Umm, actually that's just DOG. The pee is typically disposed of quite early in the process.I'd advise against continuing to listen to your french chef advisor – I suspect he hates you…

Leave a Reply

