Been So Long

Every time I upload something to my dA gallery it’s with the hope that it will go viral. It never does. I mean, a handful of my stuff has, but that’s a handful out of the probably hundreds of things I’ve uploaded. After awhile it depresses me. There are some people for whom 800 “Favorites” is an every day occurrence. How jealous am I?

Always

I’m not sure why more of my stuff doesn’t go viral (because I am a teeny bit popular and teeny bit fancrushed by people). It could be because frankly it’s just not special enough. After all, I’m “competing” against millions of other artists, some of whom do work that is amazing, brilliant, genius, breathtaking, and other superlatives I could put here… Then again, I’ve seen cliched, boring shit go viral. dA remains a mystery to me.

Before anyone says I shouldn’t do it for the accolades, well, yeah. I shouldn’t. And I mostly don’t. But it sure is nice when the accolades come.

45 thoughts on “Been So Long

  1. Excuse me. But that whole 'do it for the accolades' thing is pretty much bogus.There are precisely 2 reasons to create. One is out of some kind of twisted ascetic purity, where you have no interest in even letting others see your work, where you only create for the satisfaction that it provides you. There is another term for this kind of creative impulse – 'mental illness'.We create art for others to experience. In fact, we only truly experience our own creative work through its impact on others. Whether the feedback loop comes in the form of accolades, or anger, or pure terror, if it is never observed, that is indistinguishable from if it was never created.I don't write for me. I love to play with the words, to make them say more by the way they are connected and flow, to find that cadence, a rhythm that feeds back into the narrative and sometimes, when the stars align, become something…special. But that could never happen if I didn't put my stuff out where people can read it.I think the only part you have wrong here is your numerical expectations. Hell, babe, if everything is special than nothing is special. Maybe one in 300, or 500 is what you should expect. Maybe instead of a bunch of little accolades you're going to get one great big one. Maybe you should think less, or maybe more, and just make sure you're being true to YOUR vision, YOUR voice, and the audience will come, in the fullness of time…(I'm kind of stuck on that "fullness of time" phrase – I'm mostly just wandering around looking for places to use it)

  2. In fact, we only truly experience our own creative work through its impact on others.which is one of the remarkable things about architecture, because it is art, created craft, that impacts others immersively.regardless, wv says here there be gragons.

  3. There is another term for this kind of creative impulse – 'mental illness'.Oh, I guffawed. I don't think enough of our fellow blogpals compliment you on your posts. They really are a joy to read, even when they're serious. And I'm all like "BOOOOOOOOO! NO SERIOUS!"

  4. which is one of the remarkable things about architecture, because it is art, created craft, that impacts others immersively.I think architects have to be some of the most under-appreciated artists out there. I mean, their work is ALL AROUND US. And how often to people stop to really take it in? Granted a lot of what I see is not worth taking in, but still…BTW, who designs mega-churches?

  5. I don't think enough of our fellow blogpals compliment you on your posts.I think most just hope he isn't going to go "POP-POP! POP!" at them.Or show up with no pants and a machete. Although that would have been a big hit at our party.

  6. Why thank you, WC!Well you ARE kind of cute for a shambling, rotting corpse but as far as I know you have no beebees so perhaps I wasn't speaking to you.Jeebus, you have your own ALL ABOUT ME blog, can you let VS have just a moment here?

Leave a Reply

