I Do Not Fetishize 9/11, Which is Why It’s Weird I’m Making This

I had a big panic attack this morning. While the baby sleeps, I am enjoying a drink and some time working on a piece. It relates to 9/11. But I’m already sweating my artist’s comment. I’m afraid this work will be interpreted as “YAY, AMERICA, BOO EVERYBODY ELSE!!!” That’s not how I mean it. I mean it more like “The city survived.” I’ve got a whole bunch of other thoughts I could put in the comment…like the fact that I think this country will be destroyed by the greedy rich, the Republicans and right-wing terrorists before it will be destroyed by foreign sociopaths flying airplanes…but honestly I’m not interested in the politics of the piece, more the raw defiance of the woman as she represents New York.

Work very much in progress

First person to talk about the scale of the woman a.) will get a pen in the eye b.) doesn’t get it.

17 thoughts on “I Do Not Fetishize 9/11, Which is Why It’s Weird I’m Making This

  1. I'm actually a little more concerned with WHERE she's standing. Should't she consider the position of that great big spike right behind her…behind…and maybe shuffle a couple steps to one side?I dunno about her, but I'm pretty sure it would make ME fell better…

  2. I wouldn't have picked it as a 9/11 statement at all. I would have said it was a comment on how different people see liberty.Teabaggers vs real people would be one interpretation.So it could be a kind of 9/11 statement, to me.

  3. When the crummy band I co-founded did an anti-Reagan song (Entitled "Reagan.") about 50 yrs. ago, & I cut a video for it, many of the ninnies who saw the vid said, "Gosh, that could be interpreted as being pro-Reagan, esp. if one doesn't listen to the lyrics."People are stupid (if they don't get it, they're really stupid) so cordially invite them to the theological place of eternal damnation, w/ bells on.Did drinking in the morning help the panic attack any? (AFAF.)

  4. .like the fact that I think this country will be destroyed by the greedy rich, the Republicans and right-wing terrorists before it will be destroyed by foreign sociopaths flying airplanes Me too.I like it, and her expression is fucking awesome woman!

  5. Just because something's set in New York should not automatically make it about 9-11, although there are now many people who have been progammed to think that way. Now if you had put her in a blue dress and red and white striped tights you could probably sell it to the tea party types no problem. As it is now, I think it conveys the ideas you want it to convey.

  6. While the baby sleeps, I am enjoying a drink and some time working on a piece. The Bloody Mary is an essential part of any complete breakfast.Nice work, kiddo, it answers the attacks on NYC by Falwell and Robertson, as well as the attacks by al Qaeda.

Leave a Reply

