Futuristic Smile-Capturing Technology

Dudeskull is now smiling–a lot. Yesterday, it seemed he couldn’t keep a smile off his face, but of course every time you try to capture that sort of thing, it suddenly becomes so fleeting. So, anyway, I kept taking movies of him, but when he would see the camera, he would stop smiling and become transfixed by it, instead of whatever was amusing him. (Me, I’m assuming.)

I need to come up with some sort of genius camera that senses baby smiles and snaps the picture in milliseconds.

In the meantime, here are some stills.

For zrm: “BRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANES!”
Holy shit, that is one cute babby. 
76 thoughts on “Futuristic Smile-Capturing Technology

  1. I'd be self-conscious, thinking I had some mustard on my chin or something.No need to be self-conscious–I just assume that there's always food on me somewhere. My specialty is oil-based stains on my blouses. It's super-classy. This would shirley get you a lecture from Advice Giver.Actually, he'd probably find that amusing. He's mostly into telling me what kind of organic food to buy and that my art is so creepy it will scare my child.

  2. my art is so creepy it will scare my child.and a zombie-themed stroller with a big bloodshot eye wouldn't?Anyways, we have discovered that 'scary' and 'macabre' are kind of socialized mores. When Young zombie was little, one of his favorite videos was "Nightmare Before Christmas." which was awesome, because I liked it too. And yanno, when we analyzed the content, it had less frightening things in it that your standard Disney movie (hello? does no one think Bambi's mother getting slaughtered doesn't scare the living fuck out of a kid?). but it has that macabre patina over what is actually a very warm and fuzzy story.At one party, YZ was entertaining some of the other kids, and being a sharing sort, put NBC on. One of the helicopter moms swooped in, saying "ohhh, don't you think that's a little – intense – for the little ones?""No, I think it just violates your comfortable, safe, predictable norms and gives you another opportunity to exercise your overprotective judgmental superiority, so knock yourself out; I will fetch the fainting couch and I see you already are clutching your pearls. Here let's put in an upbeat movie like Sleeping Beauty; evil witches, poison comas, haunted mirrors, mutants and exile." I did not say.

  3. actually, I think there is some benefit to allowing kids some contact with scary stuff. Monster movies, etc (not gory, vicious stuff) allows them to deal with what the EST people used to call "free-floating anxiety" by putting a face to the nameless things that scare you, and then you can process it and make it harmless.Of course, I am a zombie and a bad parent and a bad, bad person.Young Zombie and I watched "Drag Me To Hell" together a little while back. But mainly we watch Maddow and Olbermann and Stewart and that kind of thing; you know, the REALLY scary stuff.

  4. Tim Burton's stuff IS creepyBut what if you had not been socialized to make "skeletons=creepy"? what if skells were just well meaning folks with a different POV, like in NMBC or Corpse Bride?Actually, in Corpse Bride, the REALLY repellent disgusting creatures were the living……..and in real life too, these days. FUCK YOU SCOTT WALKER!

  5. Very cute pics!P.S. My older sister sister, meself, and younger brother all went to see Bambi when we were little.Not a dry eye in the house (and plenty of nightmares after).I didn't get over it until them deerfuckers started eating my mountain laurels…~

  6. But what if you had not been socialized to make "skeletons=creepy"? what if skells were just well meaning folks with a different POV, like in NMBC or Corpse Bride?I wouldn't be surprised if some of that were instinctual, in the same way many of the markers of beauty is. Also, Drag Me to Hell is AWESOME. Just really fun and scary. A perfect little morsel of horror.Very cute pics! The little tyke is not uncute. Athankee!!!

  7. Being raised in a household of inveterate hunters, Bambi never bothered me (except for the fact that we typically shot bucks) because I knew how good she was gonna taste, especially that big flank steak n eggs cooked over a campfire. Although I always preferred everything about the pig hunts, the excitement, the fact that shot placement MATTERED (and if you got it wrong the pig could actually WIN) and the SAUSAGE!! Yum!My personal thing about movies is that you kind of have to pick. Either stay away from violence altogether or insist on movies where violence is ugly, never glorified or stylized. The thing that I think is wrong is this sense that either a) violence is a good way to solve problems, a la John Wayne or b) violence is fun, amusing, clean, safe or enjoyable. Here's the thing – the first time you try to stick a knife in another human, you discover a whole bunch of things in rapid succession – that it's HARD to do, that it's messy and scary, that they will do ANYTHING to make you stop, that the sounds they make and the stuff that comes out is unexpectedly awful, that as soon as you do it you wish you could go back and NOT do it, because you just turned a disagreement into a fight for your life and somebody could very well DIE and it could very well by you and there's no way to disengage and get out but, quite possibly, stick the knife in the poor bloody fucker again. If kids understood what real violence at eyeball range was like, there'd be fewer drivebys and fewer kids pulling out a gun at Arbys. Movies can do a decent job of showing violence for what it is, how it can trap you and make you into something you hate, and kids should have to GET that…

  8. He's a cute wee babby. I would go with Mikey on this issue and I don't get the obsession with blood and guts. There's some revolting thing at the local video store called Pretty Little Things, I think, which seems to be about torturing little girls. Am I missing something here in popular culture because that seems to be genuinely sick.

  9. There's some revolting thing at the local video store called Pretty Little Things, I think, which seems to be about torturing little girls. Am I missing something here in popular culture because that seems to be genuinely sick.Well, it if it's just little girls, does it really matter?

  10. Well, it if it's just little girls, does it really matter?Well of course not. Little girls are for torture, big girls are for pr0n. Older women are for operating the nursing home.See? Simple.

  11. In Michael Moore's Bowling for Colombine he talks about reaction he got when Roger & Me was shown in classrooms. He said he got a lot of complaints about the scene where a woman is skinning rabbits for food but nobody said a word about the scene just prior to that where a man who had been laid off got shot down in the streets by the police. Apparently, watching Bambi would be far less emotional for the kids if they just shot a black man instead of Bambi's mom.

  12. s. He said he got a lot of complaints about the scene where a woman is skinning rabbits for food but nobody said a word about the scene just prior to that where a man who had been laid off got shot down in the streets by the police. Apparently, watching Bambi would be far less emotional for the kids if they just shot a black man instead of Bambi's mom.Good lord. This thread just got very depressing.

  13. Anyway, successfully measured the parking, procured liquor (WITHOUT knocking over the liquor stores, you people have a lousy opinion of me), added coolant to the ZombiCar, re-hydrated, and now am shaking hands with Sailor Jerry….who also visited the half-deck last night, I might add.

  14. all of you go to my blog and tell me how brilliant I amThis is the kind of thing that endears a zombie to me. That's fucking direct. There is no guile there. I may try demanding that people tell me how attractive I am one day. Of course, some may argue that if I have to demand it, the sentiment may carry less weight.

  15. BTW, my zombaby does have eyelashes (they are long and beautiful), but they don't photograph well because they are light…because there are so many fair people on boff sides of the family.

  16. These days it never fails to happen. I finally get an hour or two to myself, and it's like some mass Internet exodus happens. I mean, what? do I have bad breath or something? I know I don't smell bad cuz I just washed with Coconut frosting body wash…

  17. your day job is as a spammer, WC?Before sending any comments I archive them in compressed .tar format. If the resulting file happens to be corrupted, I will be able to describe myself as a TAR-mangled spammer.

  18. So, it turns out that outside a Bowie concert venue in Southern California in 1973, police found a kid dressed up as Ziggy Stardust dead in the back seat of a car. He was determined to have been a victim of foul play.One of the detectives just walked away shaking his head. "Just another Car Strangled Glammer" he muttered…Sorry. It looked like so much fun, I couldn't resist

  19. when we go on picnics, often times there is so much to carry. Sometimes, one has to sling the pickles-bottle off of one's belt, which makes your walking gait a bit odd.That's right- you walk in a jar-dangled manner.These puns are making WV hooll; y'all better knock it off.

Leave a Reply

