Shoulda Known

When you achieve any sort of status as an artist, I reckon its inevitable to have imitators. Hell, I know I’ve imitated–in my own way–several artists whom I admire. The thing is, I’m very sure to put my own spin on what I’m imitating. But it’s a complicated thing. Where’s the line?

Bliss
Bad Secret Wants
Keeper of the Mushrooms

The fact is that this happens to me on a semi-regular basis. And frankly, I’m too busy to worry about it these days.

Besides, there’s always a danger of things like this happening when you give away your secrets.

21 thoughts on “Shoulda Known

  1. That is so fucked up. What.A.Cunt. How does she think it's ok? Especially the Bliss forgery..and I do call it a forgery on purpose. But then..ya can't tell some greedy fucks anything..they run w/it so as to fill their own coffers.

  2. Oh, Dusty, that's totally not necessary. There's bound to be at least a little overlap when you're using the same stock model Most of the people who imitate me are young women and men in their late teens and early 20's. I honestly don't think they understand that, ya know, maybe they should make more an effort to make a piece truly their own.

  3. yeah, except…on Paula, the colors, textures and highlighting are all flatter, and the proportions are just altered a little bit, enough to make it kind of kattywampus. Also the background is stupid.And what is up with that hair?

  4. You're very kind and forgiving towards your young imitators. Hopefully, they'll develop their own style, and acknowledge your inspirational/tutorial role.There's bound to be at least a little overlap when you're using the same stock modelUh, I.B.I.M.B.

  5. Also the background is stupid.And what is up with that hair?The hair is dumb…but I like the checkered floor tilted up above. It's just that, you know, almost everything is exactly like mine. Couldnt she at least have put her in another place on the canvas?

  6. The stock model photo is neat, however the whole rip-off of your idea still smells to high heaven for me. It's like she only changed a couple of things of yours and used that as her stock. Besides yours has depth,even the face on yours, its so much better. You can tell when you study them both together that she is a rookie, so to speak. Let me show my ignorance here: Wtf does I.B.I.M.B.stand for please?

  7. Besides yours has depth,even the face on yours, its so much better. You can tell when you study them both together that she is a rookie, so to speak.Let me show my ignorance here: Wtf does I.B.I.M.B.stand for please? I had to Google it myself. It stands for "I'll Be In My Bunk."re: my art…believe it or not there are other similar outrageous imitations out there. I comfort myself with the knowledge that they are not nearly as polished and refined as mine. At the risk of sounding jerky. 😀

  8. So it means someone is jerking off? As for your beautiful art VS, Imitation might be the sincerest form of flattery but stealing is a fucking crime.People try to tell me that I copy the Rude Pundit w/all my f-bombs and other crude descriptive phrases..but I don't see how they arrive at that place as he and I have different styles..we just like to cuss..a LOT. ;-P

  9. Yeah, I totally feel your pain, VS.I was up north over the holiday weekend and some upstart kid broke some windows and burned down a pole barn.I'm like, jeez, kit, maybe you could have burned down something that I HAVEN'T burned down recently.Sheesh…

Leave a Reply

