Let the The Eagles Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuue

In the early 90’s, when I was a teen living on the Treasure Coast of Florida, there was a local woman who fancied herself a bit of a singer. She put out a couple of songs on vinyl. They were…horrible. Like car wreck horrible. So horrible they looped around to COMPLETELY FUCKING AWESOME. My dad was a journalist at the time and ended up with a promotional copy of her “songs.” These songs were “Woman of the 90’s” and “Buxom Ladies Are Back in Style.” That is not a joke. Those were the titles. My stepmother and father and I  would listen to these songs and laugh until we cried. Seriously. Tears.  I have beseeched the great and powerful Google to find digital versions of these “songs,” but she has denied me.

In lieu of these masterworks, I give you:

These next two are just for Substance…who seems to be pretty open-minded when it comes to country and country adjacent music. I fully expect to be banned from his blog by the end of the day.

As always, YOU’RE WELCOME, Substance!

HOLY FUCKING SHIT. She’s multi-talented.




PS: I’m sure this lady is a lovely, lovely person and means no harm to the music world. And I mean no harm to her. I do not wish her ill, I just had to share this stuff with my blog pals.

52 thoughts on “Let the The Eagles Suuuuuuuuuuuuuuue

  1. Hey zombie, I've got some Top 40 for ya. I got lots and lots more if you need it. 😉In my youth,(long before the intertubes) if a band did not get on the charts then they got little or no radio play and those of us who lived away from the big cities were unlikely to even know of their existence. So a great deal of the music I grew up with and still listen to was top 40 music. Of course, the top 40 music of today just isn't the same as it is just a buch of damn kids who should be stayin' offa my lawn DAMMIT!

  2. Of course, the top 40 music of today just isn't the same as it is just a buch of damn kids who should be stayin' offa my lawn DAMMIT!I do think that maybe the quantity of quality Top 40 has diminished somewhat…then again, that could be nostalgia clouding everyone's vision. Or, um, hearing? I'm guessing that even in the 60's and 70's people were complaining that Top 40 was lame and that people were SELLING OUT, MAN!

  3. Not in the 60's. That was when AM radio was king, and nobody listened to anything else. In about the mid-seventies some of the FM stations began playing "album rock" or at least scheduled programs where they played "deep cuts". These were essentially the album tracks that didn't get released as singles. Of course, some of them became popular, crossed over to top 40 and a single would be released.But that was the choices – singles and music from the charts vs. album rock. I have fond memories of falling in love with a song and hopping between radio stations trying to hear it again…

  4. I do think that maybe the quantity of quality Top 40 has diminished somewhat…then again, that could be nostalgia clouding everyone's vision.If you look back at the charts you'll find there was plenty of lame-ass music in there. Most of those songs have fallen by the wayside over the years, so when you listen to the classic rock station you tend to forget that there was as much crap back then as there is now.

  5. Oh hell yeah. These lists are great fun!I think we remember the good music and forget how much crap they played. Radio's been annoying us since the invention of the transistor. But when Napster and then Kazaa was big, I had a blast pulling up all the old charts and getting reminded of all sorts of stuff to download…

  6. Top 40 my ass! The original concept's been dead 40 yrs. now.mikey understands: Actual Top 40 radio of say 1965-sometime later was not unlike shuffling the iPod. Everything from Motown to James Brown, Limey Invasion to Brill Bldg. pop, the occasional country-tinged tune, Ray Charles, & even Sinatra (w/ & w/o Nancy) once in a while.Much better in retrospect than reality (Now that I read the 1970 list.) although nowhere near the fun & novelty of an entire (& all good tracks, too) album side played on FM. Is there a point to this? Oh, yes, just call the whores practicing music merely for popularity, fame & wealth the whores they are!

  7. I have fond memories of falling in love with a song and hopping between radio stations trying to hear it again…I remember desperately fumbling to hit the "record" button on my tape recorder when a good song came on the radio.

  8. Most of those songs have fallen by the wayside over the years, so when you listen to the classic rock station you tend to forget that there was as much crap back then as there is now.Exactly! That's what I was trying to say. You just said it much better than I did.

  9. I'm gonna help you out and point you toward some non top forty music I think you might like. I know you're a Jimi fan and this guy play nearly as well. I've linked to a song off this album previously and you responded postively to that. So I think you should consider downloading this album. IMO the best Robin Trower album, I think you'll like it.

  10. 'm gonna help you out and point you toward some non top forty music I think you might like.Oh, I'm afraid you've misunderstood me. The majority of music in my library is not Top 40. I believe the playlist I shared the other day has only one (maybe 2) Top 40 song on it. I just have a problem with people making a big show of hating Top 40. A.) I just flatly disagree that ALL Top 40 is crap and B.) I find it pretentious. I also tend to be suspicious of people who doth protest too much, ya know?

  11. So, if I'm reading this right, "barn" is the Norwegian term for "child".Now this is kind of weird. Did they call it a "barn" in english on the premise that the HOUSE had babies? Why didn't they call the outhouse "smelly dwarf"?Sort of shines a whole new light on the concept of 'locking the barn door after the baby gets out' or however that old saw goes…

  12. The problem with Top 40 is that it doesn't really exist any more. There aren't radio stations near me that really play whatever sells most. Top 40 used to be a bizarre amalgam of what your parents could tolerate and what the kids used to piss those parents off and things that sounded funny. Now I guess Billboard still keeps charts amalgamating the sales from a bunch of disparate outlets but the radio stations are targeted at kids or fogies or yokels. If there was a top 40 station I'd listen to it.

  13. Well, that probably explains why actual decent songs are hard to come by these days…but I still maintain that they exist. And that's why it bugs the crap out of me when people automatically dismiss all music that is–for the purposes of this conversation–referred to as Top 40. Also, I have no problem with guilty pleasures, which are definitely more plentiful in Top 40…plus I'm not sure what I'd work out to if I weren't working out to cheesy Top 40 remixes.

  14. Not sure about that. Outside of ABBA, the worlds leading number one so-called 'guilty pleasure', the stuff I'd lump into the category of 'guilty pleasures' if I had a conscience and if I thought people's musical opprobrium ought to concern me when I've actually shot real genuine holes in real genuine people would never appear in any significant numbers in anything called "Top 40".These include melodic metal, quality punk, stadium anthems and power ballads. Along with lyrical narratives from "Lawyers guns and money" to "Gimme some water".The important point is to embrace what you love, and be ready to fight the haters. Nothing to be lost…

  15. If you still have the record you could also sail it off the roof of a very high building. 😉back in college, we used a pizza cooker to turn 'em into ashtrays. Then we went outside and flung 'em up against the building until a campus cop threatened to pull a gun on us if we didn't stop.Alcohol may have been involved. Drugs also.

  16. Well, that probably explains why actual decent songs are hard to come by these daysGODDAMIT< HOW MANY LINKS TO THE MEKONS DO I NEED TO LEAVE?Seriously, as an Official Old Guy I refuse to admit that decent songs are hard to come by these days. It is easier than ever to put a song into production, get it into distribution, and find some avenues. Yes, there is a lot of crap, but there always has been.But starting tomorrow, I am going to be the annoying old guy at the Largest Music Festival in the world, and there are two stages devoted to local music and one of the big stages has an Emerging Artist series every fucking day, and I can say from experience that I will discover at least 6 amazing artists….I don't mean to be all IMS, but if you are not finding amazing new songs, it's because you ain't damn looking.

  17. fuckitall… dammit wait until I get a new drink…OK, we need to be clear here. I love pop music. Powerpop is a particular love of mine, and it is unfashionable in radio play. Also, one of my favorite bands from days or yore is 10cc, masters of top 40.Ever since I was a small pre-teen, and got an AM/FM radio that played "Heartbreaker" the first time I ever powered it up, I have never really listened to Top 40, really always been AOR or college radio.Especially after I got into the metallic stuff, and then the punk stuff. I thrived on the discs that the cow-town college rock station found too weird and terrible to play on the airwaves.but yanno, I loves me a good hook, a good tune. But I refuse to equate airplay with good, and that is my basal problem with Top40; that they rely on repetition to create popularity.BUT; here is the thing. Like Andy Partridge once sang,"this is pop" and the constant sub-categorization of music is a negative influence. Metal, punk hip-hop, pop. while there are bands that straddle every one of those definitions, radio and promotion wants it all to fit a format.Music is an expression of life, and it is informed by all the inputs the musicians have. You grow up listening to punk and metal and top 40, and you turn into Kurt Cobain.MUsic is being squeezed down to a much more common level, and I cannot see that as bad thing. we all just need to keep our ears to the ground, because the awesome is out there. And Sony/ Warner/ClearChannel is not the place you will hear it.

  18. Zombie..I can do you one bettah:When I lived in Boston, the Fenway to be exact, we lived on the top floor of the then highest bldg in the area. We would get very stoned and/or drunk and take all the old 45's and LP's friends would bring over, up to the roof and have contests to see who could sail those suckers all the way to Fenway Park, home of the BoSox, which was only blocks away as I could hear the crowd and the crack of the bat.No one ever sailed one into FP, but some of us came pretty damn close. 😉

  19. But I refuse to equate airplay with good, and that is my basal problem with Top40; that they rely on repetition to create popularity.Not if it's top 40 by sales: you're pretty much talking about payola or radio targeted at particular audience, which was, for instance, the MTV model back when they played videos. Mr. Mister was just not that good on their own.There was once an age when groups could have local hits, but now stations are machine-operated by national organizations.

  20. The important point is to embrace what you love, and be ready to fight the haters.That's what I'm doing here, mikey. GODDAMIT< HOW MANY LINKS TO THE MEKONS DO I NEED TO LEAVE?I was referring to good Top 40 songs, not songs in general.

  21. I was referring to good Top 40 songs, not songs in general.yeah, I know. It's a pale zombie joke attempt.Well, that probably explains why actual decent songs are hard to come by these dayswhich side are you arguing, again? Cuzzat sounds a LOT like something I'd say.remember desperately fumbling to hit the "record" button on my tape recorder when a good song came on the radio.when I was in HS, the Madison album rock station would play an entire album all the way through on Sunday nights. No interruptions, just a bit longer gap in the middle when the jock would flip it. I'd set a tape and go to sleep, and in the morning, A WHOLE NEW ALBUM free! I remember getting Highway To Hell and Candy-O this way.

  22. which side are you arguing, again? Cuzzat sounds a LOT like something I'd say.But the argument I've been making all along is not that Top 40 is made up of uniformly great music. I've always said a big percentage of it is over-produced crap. I'm just not willing to dismiss it all as crap.

Leave a Reply

