Make Me a Mix Tape

This day started out like a big pile of dookie but has improved immeasurably over the past couple hours. Thus, another post!

So, anywaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay, when I was young and naive, my friends and I used to make each other mix tapes. We took this task very seriously. So seriously…YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW. No, for reals, we did consider it an art form. Like, so many things came into consideration. Tempo. And FLOW. And OTHER STUFF!

My one friend and I exchanged tapes a lot and liked to see who could come up with the BESTEST (most retarded) names for our mixes. I made her one titled–this is not a joke–“Is Your Dad a Thief Because He Stole the Heavens and Put Them in Your Eyes.” She would make me stuff with like…oh, I don’t know…gothy stuff. I seem to recall Ministry and NIN-type stuff. And I would funk her up with Fishbone and Sly and the Family Stone and Parliament. And all was right with the world.

But , seriously, I did take making these tapes VERY SERIOUSLY. We all did… in my little circle of coolness. I kinda miss that. These days there is no need for mix tapes.

So, anyway, I was wondering…if you could like make a mix tape now…to show everybody how fucking cool and awesome you are…what would be on that tape? ZRM is forbidden from answering this post because 10 Mekons songs is NOT A MIX.

Here is mine. OMG, this is going to be sucky hard.

In no particular order (BLASPHEMY!):

Love and Communication–Cat Power (I literally think this is possibly the best song ever written. It feels like it’s a part of my bones.)
I Turn My Camera on–Spoon
Mise a Nu–Pauline Croze
What You Know–T.I.
You Got It–Mudhoney
Testify–Parliament
Set You Free–The Black Keys
Cherry Blossom Girl–Air
Island in the Sun–Weezer
Flutes of the Chi–Ween
Avalon–Bryan Ferry
Two Weeks–Grizzly Bear
Sentimental Lady–as performed by Fleetwood Mac
Love Song for a Vampire–Annie Lennox
Rawnald Gregory Erickson the Second–Starfucker
There’s No Home for You Here–The White Stripes


I will probably cheat and come back and revise and/or add to this list. Which means YOU CAN TOO.

36 thoughts on “Make Me a Mix Tape

  1. Oh, were I not so damnably lazy & depressed I'd digitize my old cassettes & make them available for all. Not for the high-definition source material, but because of the little absurdities from tv & radio between the songs. Hell, for these purposes I could dig through a box & type a few good lists, but that's not going to happen either.

  2. I used to think the same thing. That you could put songs together in a particular order to transcend the music and tell a larger truth.And there's truth to that proposition. But there's no iron in that truth – it's a weak way to approach the intra-song meta narrative.This was, perhaps, the most profound lesson to be learned from the the mp3 revolution. That some sort of random playback order, the thing we came to call shuffle, can tell us a whole bunch of larger truths than a calculated attempt to manipulate the fabric within which the music resonates.Queen followed by Flaming Lips. Elton John juxtaposed against Bush. Tesla followed by Soundgarden followed by Zevon followed by Boston followed by Seven Mary Three. Truths revealed, realities transcended, genres understood. Herein lies the the lesson.Carry on..

  3. Won't Get fooled again-The WhoZiggy Stardust-David BowieAnarchy in the UK-The Sex PistolsMaking Plans For Nigel-XTCRust Never Sleeps-Neil YoungWaiting for the Man- Velvet UndergroundHumanised- Feat. Bajka – Sola RosaWoke Up This Morning (Chosen One Mix)-Alabama3Bullet the Blue Sky-U2Dear God- XTCMe and the Devil-Gil Scott HeronSpace Race- Billy BraggFool to Cry-The Rolling StonesShelter from The Storm-Bob DylanRedemption Song-Bob MarleyNot Given Lightly-Chris KnoxAll a bit old. I would play them in this order too.

  4. But then, as Kiwi diplomatically points out, you didn't ask for analysis or opinion. You asked for a mix tape. So I made you one:Belly – Slow DogTesla – Li'l SuzieSkid Row – I'll Remember YouAerosmith – Mama KinFuel – HemorrhageFive for Fighting – SupermanGrateful Dead – Touch of GreyCher – Jesse JamesREO Speedwagon – Time for me to FlyRoger Clyne & Peacemakers – Beautiful DisasterSR71 – Right NowRefreshments – Broken RecordSweet Transvestite – Rocky Horror Picture Show SoundtrackBush – GlycerineSoundgarden – Pretty NooseScandal – Love has got a line on YouCrosby Stills & Nash – Southern Cross

  5. Many years ago a friend and I put together a mix tape and included between each song a line from the movie Gregory's Girl. Sounds like MB has similar tapes. I'm thinking if I look into it I'd probably figure out how to record movie dialog from a dvd into my computer to do a similar tape. I'm thinking Young Frankenstien or any of the Python fils would work well. As far as song go:Still Raining Still Dreaming – Jimi HendrixFurther on up the Road – Eric ClaptonBig Yellow Taxi – Joni MitchellJohn Barleycorn – TrafficThe Fool and Me – Robin TrowerLet's Just Get Naked – Joan OsborneLiving in a Lincoln – The PsychodotsDrowning in a Sea of Love – Boz ScaggsEli's Coming – Laura NyroDun Ringill – Jethro TullIt Can happen – YesHeal It Up – Concrete BlondeDrift Away – Dobie GreyTrain In Vain – Annie LennoxAlmost Cut My Hair – David Crosby with the Black CrowsIron Hand – Dire Straits

  6. 10 Mekons songs is NOT A MIX.you obviously have not heard much of the Mekons.But I always made mix tapes for my girlfriend. And they must have been kind of awesome, because she married me. I still have one I copied from a friend, that he got from a dj friend of his, titled "perverted beats, anarchy, droning, and other songs your mother won't like"I once started a comp tape with "Babe" (yes the Syyx song) and after a couple of bars, when all the TOP 40 fans were getting into it, scratched the needle through the song, then had Robin Williams shouting "SHUT the fuck UP!"My current mp3 library has lots of the stuff MB talks about. It has that yodleing album, a Hollerin' album, sounds of North American Tree Frogs, lots of George Carlin and Henry Rollins, Python, MST 3K songs and phrases…. so this stuff can pop up in between songs at any moment.But I ain't gonna do a mix tape for you, because you called me asshole on my blog. It was very hurtful. And now I have to go mow the lawn. mikey is right about those fucking lawns.

  7. Truths revealed, realities transcended, genres understood. Herein lies the the lesson.I still think there's a place for making your own mixes…and do still consider it an art form. That said, I do find iTunes Genius to be, well, genius. It's creepily intuitive and come up with some impressive mixes.

  8. when all the TOP 40 fansBite my ass. Hard. lots of George Carlin and Henry Rollins, Python, MST 3K songs and phrases…. so this stuff can pop up in between songs at any moment.We never did this, and I wish we had. I would totally incorporate stuff like this if mix tapes were still relevant. But I ain't gonna do a mix tape for you, because you called me asshole on my blog. It was very hurtful.Leave your chainsaws at home, people! zombies can be felled with hurtful words!

  9. When I was stll happily married and before Itunes, my wife and I went to visit some friends of hers who live out near Aspen. They were hosts of a weekly radio show on the local NPR station and had an amazing music collection. One day when my wife and her friend wanted to go out and "woman things" and the husband had to work they were fretting about what theyy were going yo do with me. I told them that I'd buy some blank tapes and would be perfectly happy sifting through the music and taping the stuff I liked. I got four excellent mix tapes uot of the deal. Of course, the tapes have long since worn out but through the wonders of the intertubes I have been able to get back all but one of the songs. I had a version of Baba O'Riley in which the Irish folk group The Chieftans joined with The Who. IMO the best version of that song that I've heard. I have not been able to find it again.W/V outfiber. Out damn fiber, out I say!

  10. That some sort of random playback order, the thing we came to call shuffle, can tell us a whole bunch of larger truths than a calculated attempt to manipulate the fabric within which the music resonates.You can also use random selection to have the computer make a mix tape. Criteria: four or five stars, under 3:30.Last Child – AerosmithBecause – The BeatlesYou Can't Get a Man With a Gun – Betty HuttonThirteen – Big StarMountain Of Needles – Brian Eno & David ByrneRudie Can't Fail – The ClashOhio – Crosby, Stills, Nash & YoungEl Chupa Nibre – DangerDoomCasper the Friendly Ghost – Daniel JohnstonYou're Nobody 'til Somebody Loves You – Dean MartinGet the Time – The DescendentsUncomplicated – Elvis CostelloYou Should Be Ashamed – Emitt RhodesSorry I'm White – The FrogsDamaged Goods – Gang of FourDead-Aid – Gorky's Zygotic MynciExercise One – Joy DivisionI Missed The Bus – Kris KrossHelp Me, Rhonda – The Langley Schools Music Project(Honey, Baby, Hurry!) Bring Your Sweet Self Back to Me – Lefty FrizzellBye Bye Baby Blues – Little Hat JonesChildren of the Revolution – Marc Bolan & T-RexK. C. Moan – Memphis Jug BandGymnasty – National LampoonHot Child In the City – Nick GilderThe Show Must Go On – Pink FloydPinhead – RamonesBathtime in Clerkenwell – The Real Tuesday WeldTemptation – Screamin' Jay HawkinsEpidemic – SlayerLet Me Have It All (Alternate Mix) – Sly & The Family StoneI Know I've Been Changed – The Staple SingersSeen and Not Seen – Talking HeadsLollipop Guild – Wizard of OzEli, Eli, Elu – Zu

  11. And again, easy:Party Til You Puke – Andrew W. K.Rubber Baby Buggy Bumpers – Austrian Death MachineCaledonia Mission – The BandHer Majesty – The BeatlesThe Mood That I'm In – Billie HolidayTo Keep My Love Alive – Blossom DearieVery Very Hungry – Brian Eno – David ByrneLa Migra (Cruza La Frontera II) – BrujeriaTears Stupid Tears – Daniel JohnstonDethjingle – DethklokNon Je Ne Regrette Rien – Édith PiafWe Just Won't – The Go! TeamHate To Say I Told You So – The HivesPeople Get Ready – The ImpressionsThe Last Resort – Judee SillMindless Child Of Motherhood – The KinksMy Drug Buddy – The LemonheadsSlow Down – Lupe FiascoAsleep and Dreaming – The Magnetic FieldsYo, Ho (A Pirate's Life for Me) – The MellomenFish Beach – Michael NymanThe Glory Of Man – The MinutemenGoodbye Cruel World – Pink FloydLouisiana 1927 – Randy NewmanDang Me – Roger MillerCome On a My House – Rosemary ClooneyI Don't Know How To Say Goodbye To You – Sam PhillipsOrange Colored Sky – Screamin' Jay HawkinsVerbal Abuse/Leeches – SlayerDer Fuehrer's Face – Spike Jones and his City SlickersStill Waiting – Sum 41Little Willy – The SweetI'm Tired – Webb PierceIt's True That We Love One Another – The White StripesHow My Yodelling Days Began – Wilf Carter

  12. I lit out for tahoe I was trailed by the state policeIt was springtime in the mountains but I wished I'd brought my fleeceSet out runnin but I'm takin my timeA friend of the zombie is a friend of mineI get home before daylightJust might avoid a Zombie biteRan into the Zombie, babe, he loaned me a CeeDeeFull of obscure music, not a bit of it top 40Set out runnin but I'm takin my timeA friend of the zombie is a friend of mineI get home before daylightJust might avoid a Zombie biteStopped in Sacramento but the Zombie caught me thereTook my Sailor Jerry's and he Vanished in the airSet out runnin but I'm takin my timeA friend of the zombie is a friend of mineI get home before daylightJust might avoid a Zombie bite

  13. ***New and Improved Mix Tape***Fishing For a New Love – Judy WeldonStill Raining Still Dreaming – Jimi HendrixFurther on up the Road – Eric ClaptonBig Yellow Taxi – Joni MitchellJohn Barleycorn – TrafficDesparado – Judy WeldonThe Fool and Me – Robin TrowerLet's Just Get Naked – Joan OsborneLiving in a Lincoln – The PsychodotsMacho Man (With a Marshmallow Heart) – Judy WeldonDrowning in a Sea of Love – Boz ScaggsEli's Coming – Laura NyroDun Ringill – Jethro TullIt Can happen – YesHeal It Up – Concrete BlondeDrift Away – Dobie GreyTrain In Vain – Annie LennoxEvery Season – Judy WeldonAlmost Cut My Hair – David Crosby with the Black CrowsIron Hand – Dire StraitsThe Danger Mouse Theme Song

Leave a Reply

