Mixed Media: No, No! Too Sexy!!!

This convo here got me thinking about machismo. Peacock-like displays of masculinity evoke wildly-different reactions in me depending on who is doing the displaying. Fer instance, I find conservative talk of “2nd Amendment remedies” (and just general conservative tough-guy talk) vomit-inducing. But I know some liberal dudes who aren’t afraid to talk guns and fisticuffs in response to this fucknuttery…and rather than being disgusted by what I intellectually know is pretty silly macho posturing (although I generally think it’s much less likely to be posturing when it’s a liberal guy)/ or Internet Tough Guy Talk™, I often find it–this is embarrassing–hot.

I actually have a friend who appears to be a genuine Tough Guy™. And he’s a guy who won’t hesitate to act like one, talk about his badassery. Now with most guys, I would probably find this sort of thing rather repulsive. In fact, I’d probably give him shit for it. Maybe challenge him to a duel. But when this guy talks tough, I like it. It’s fucking embarrassing. I don’t know. Perhaps it’s because in addition to being a Tough Guy™ he is also just a superb human being with a good heart. 

Still, I feel like, as a feminist, I ought to have evolved past being impressed by this sort of thing.

This video has little to do with the topic, still I feel it’s somehow appropriate for this entry:

Why the prolific posting today?

14 thoughts on “Mixed Media: No, No! Too Sexy!!!

  1. insanity, addiction, beligerence, anger, fear and self-involvement you say?Apparently I am a Tough Guy. Awesome story, as always. Oh, to get inside that head for a day or so. Probably some wonderful and scary stuff in there.

  2. he is also just a superb human being with a good heart.That's it there. I only know one tough guy and that's on the internet but his story is backed up by someone I trust and his basic humanity is what makes him interesting. Some of my fondest memories of the internet are of him pouring cold water on Right wing firearms wankfests.

  3. That's it there. I only know one tough guy and that's on the internet but his story is backed up by someone I trust and his basic humanity is what makes him interesting.Yes, it helps that I know he's an amazing father and just all-around lovely person. (Also flamingly liberal.)

  4. So I've been thinking about this a lot today…and I think this sort of thing appeals to for many reasons…but one of them is that it speaks to my passion. Oh sure, I'm a laid-back, soft-spoken, and sometimes shy (YES!!! Believe it or not!) person…but there is a bubbling cauldron of anger and passion underneath the placid exterior. HONEST! And cool Tough Guys™ appeal to that part of me. Deep, huh?

  5. Actions always have consequences..As a side note, if this guitar riff doesn't make you want to run outside and fight somebody, you should report immediately to the morgue for processing.A further note, although I'm getting into an area well outside of my expertise, if you like "Don't Tread on Me" as a workout song, this one ought to light your candle….

Leave a Reply

