Helping Canada

Let’s all calm down, eh? Maybe go to the mall!!!!

Check out the sweet rap!!!

I know most of my readers are not big TV watchers, so explanation:

This is a fake–obsv–music video from the sitcom “How I Met Your Mother.”* The very pretty lady in the horrible blonde wig is Colbie Smulders, who is not just a Canadian in  real life, but plays one on TV! The back story for her character is that she was a teen pop star in Canada and made several horrible videos that mortify grown-up her. Also that the mid-eighties only reached Canada by the early 90’s, which is why the vid has such an AWESOME 80’s aesthetic!

*When I first saw this show, I was like “What is this piece of shit Friends rip-off?” Then I gave it a chance and now I think it’s really clever and funny.

More Robin Sparkles here!

Confession time: I am a huge Robin Sparkles fan.

15 thoughts on “Helping Canada

  1. Ohio is sort of like that, too. When I got here in 2005, they were into what was happening in New York in the late 90s.Yeah, but I think NY and LA are sort of ahead of everyone in Flyover Country.

  2. Also that the mid-eighties only reached Canada by the early 90's.This is so true. That era of Canoodlian muzak was dominated by Bryan Adams until Celine Dion came along. It was truly a shameful time for our nation – and we all blame Brian Mulroney for it.

  3. Also that the mid-eighties only reached Canada by the early 90's, which is why the vid has such an AWESOME 80's aesthetic!Now, now, Canada was a seething volcano of ROCK GODHOOD in the '80s **WARNING: VIDEO CONTAINS EXPLICIT MULLET CONTENT & MAY BE UNSUITABLE FOR PERSONS WITH TASTE**Ohio is sort of like that, too. When I got here in 2005, they were into what was happening in New York in the late 90s.I Ohio's defense, Ohio was a hotbed of cutting edge, avant-garde musical acts in the 70's.I'm not sure why this isn't true anymore, but I blame Boehner.

  4. Am too a big telebision watcher! I'm big, & I watch a lot of tee vee. (Or at least it's on 90% of my awake-time.But I have pretty much lost my taste for sitcoms.And I think the '70s were the last time the cultural machine could let anything happen w/o immediately co-opting it, even if it did happen in Ohio.

  5. I'm pretty picky about what I watch outside of news, which I'm pretty slutty in my consumption of. Must-watch shows for me: How I Met Your MotherModern FamilyParks and RecreationFamily GuyBob's Burgersand of course True Blood and other HBO offerings.

  6. I mostly use the teevee for sports. Other than that, when I don't feel like reading, writing or listening to music, I surf the teevee. I have a complex and carefully managed list of "Favorite" channels, so I can just keep hitting that button to scroll through them. I tend to land on documentaries, the Outdoor Channel with its guns and hunting, stuff like "How it's Made" which is interesting but not important, and cooking shows that don't include deserts, cakes or contests.As for series, I tend to develop a limited loyalty. 'Justified' is my favorite, by far. I enjoyed 'The Chicago Code' but my understanding is it is dead. 'The Event' was quite a roller coaster, starting out interesting, becoming unbearably stupid in the middle and finishing so insanely great that I can't wait for next season.I hate reality shows except "Sons of Guns", which, if you have an interest in high end weapons or just want to see a reality show about a business where everybody gets along and genuinely likes (actually, loves) each other, that's the one.All time, the best teevee series that have ever been, and worth watching again and again, is Aaron Sorkin's 'SportsNight' (I have the box set) and, of course, without question, the best teevee series ever produced, Buffy. Still available on G4.That's it. All you need to know…

Leave a Reply

