The Novelty’s Not Worn Off [RMF]

Before I get to RMF, I just wanted to say how much I miss making art. I stopped making it several months into my pregnancy because the pressure on my pelvis made my back issues worse than they already were and I was burned out and feeling like nothing I made was good. Part of the problem is that I’m such a fangirl of other digital artists’ work. I look at their stuff, decide it’s brilliant, then say psychotic stuff to myself like “Why didn’t you think of that, you dumb cunt?” Then I cut myself and find a wall to gently bang my head against. I’m being hyperbolic here, but being a huge admirer of others’ works is definitely a double-edged sword.

So it looks at though I may be featured in my first book soon. I’ve been asked to contribute art and Photoshop tricks to a compendium called “Dark Dreams,” which will feature the gothy/dark art of several digital artists. When I had to pick out pieces to contribute (which oddly I chose not to share in this entry), I looked at my gallery with fresh eyes. And it made me wonder WHY I’M SO FUCKING HARD ON MYSELF. Some of my stuff is pretty neat.

Keeper of the Mushrooms

The Last Hurrah
Modern Sleeping Arrangements

I’m kinda fascinated by novelty songs that don’t sound like novelties.

 (I’m not sure Dethklok songs can accurately be called novelty songs, but because of Metalocalypse, I kind of lump the group in with my other favorite novelty artists.)

I give these guys a lot of credit, especially the last 3 artists. It’s obvious that quite a lot of time and love goes into crafting songs that could easily be half-assed and still be funny. Also, it’s always cracked me up that the guys in Spinal Tap and Tenacious D can actually play their instruments…really well.

37 thoughts on “The Novelty’s Not Worn Off [RMF]

  1. Although I'm not a pro, I paint on occasion. Initially inspired by Roger Dean album art, I do mostly fantasy art and an occasional op-art piece. I'm not at your level, but I think I understand how you feel. When I'm working on something I never feel like I'm getting it quite the way I really want it. After I'm done, at first I tend to only see the things I think I could have done better. I have to kind of set it aside for a while before I can look at it and see the things I did right. In my opinion, you are doing excellent work. And the inclusion of your work in Dark Dreams shows that others agree with me. CongatulationsI will post this as soon as I can "polve" the W/V.

  2. I'm not at your level, but I think I understand how you feel. When I'm working on something I never feel like I'm getting it quite the way I really want it. After I'm done, at first I tend to only see the things I think I could have done better. I have to kind of set it aside for a while before I can look at it and see the things I did right.Exactly! I know all creative people experience this stuff…but sometimes it's just so frustrating. BTW, are you going to SHARE? No fair, bringing up your art and then not letting us see.

  3. I'm not sure this qualifies, but I absolutley adore teh G&S version of Baby Got Back.That is hilarious…and I can't believe how young my beloved Kevin Kline looks in that clip.

  4. Also, do you Canadian guys say "about" like "aboot?" I've noticed that some Canadian accents are A LOT stronger than others. Some are nearly indistinguishable from American accents.

  5. BTW, are you going to SHARE? No fair, bringing up your art and then not letting us see.I'm afraid I don't have any digital reproductions of any of my work, like I said, I'm not a pro. And now another RMF selection. I will get Sirius here and go with Dog Eat Dog. And as long as I brought up W.A.Y. I will throw in Germs as a bonus track.

  6. As you've probably figured out by now, I'm kind of a barbarian with neither the education nor the aesthetic tools or temperment to appreciate art on any but the most immediate and visceral levels – the very limitations that make me good at sex and violence tend to reduce my appreciation for deeper pursuits.That said, I REALLY like the, what would you call it, TONE of your work in general. The forboding, the sense of impending crisis, and the willingness of the central figure to stand in the maelstrom. You did one I saw of a girl with a sword that made me FEEL. That's cool.Like this one, The Last Hurrah. The mood is so dark, but there's such a strong undercurrent of strength and courage that it makes one welcome the fight. And it has this kinetic sense, like being surrounded on three sides and trying to figure out her next move.You know. This kind of mood.W/V gets it. Lots of people are on their own. Some are on our ownest

  7. Part of the problem is that I'm such a fangirl of other digital artists' work. I look at their stuff, decide it's brilliant, then say psychotic stuff to myself like "Why didn't you think of that, you dumb cunt?" I'm sure they think the same thing when they see your work.This song (best love song EVER!!!!) always cracks me up. I dunno if their song about a guy whose girlfriend is sacrificed to a volcano is a novelty song or not… "he and she were to be wed, she chose a mountain god instead." Bummer!

  8. I'm afraid I don't have any digital reproductions of any of my work,I take that back, a little. I used to play around with a fractal generating program. I saved some of them on disc somewhere and even have a few currently on the hard drive. I don't know how well it will show up, but I've changed my avatar to a fractal I made that looks like a rather goofy face.

  9. I'm kind of a barbarian with neither the education nor the aesthetic tools or temperment to appreciate art on any but the most immediate and visceral levels – And this is wrong how? Last time I checked there were no hard and fast rules for appreciating art of any kind. Either stuff resonates or it doesn't. I'm really flattered you like my stuff…and also that you totally get it.

  10. well, you know the County Health Department is going to be nothing but professional when they send you their planning checklist, and it is formatted in Comic Sans.Also, bite me M$ Wurd. You open that piece of crap, and everything grinds to a fucking halt while the Redmond Hamsters struggle to move their syphilitic limbs.

  11. I follow this line of thinking with "I am stealing that."HA!! Believe me, I do that too. But I try to not be completely obnoxious about it and put my own spin on things. Here's a guy who stole that and the other thing too.Sooooooooooooooooo dorky-catchy. I would dance to that. Oh yes.

  12. But I try to not be completely obnoxious about it and put my own spin on things. in college, we had a studio titled something like "Architecture and Popular Culture" in which one of the assignments was to design a house for David Byrne based on the lyrics to Talking Heads songs.I know! shutup, we were in college, we were SUPPOSED to do that kind of bullshit.Anyway, my final presentation was entitled "More Buildings About Songs And Food" and featured this philosophical bit from Mr. Byrne: "We steal from what we like." Since then, I haven't worried too much about it.I also find it more comforting when people steal from my work.

  13. I'm sure they think the same thing when they see your work.I knew somebody out there liked my stuff when when a fellow dA put my work in her "My Idols" grouping. Awww. VS, you are a true artist, nuff said. Great news about the book!!!Thanks, AK! I'm really psyched. and it is formatted in Comic Sans.Also, bite me M$ Wurd. You open that piece of crap, and everything grinds to a fucking halt while the Redmond Hamsters struggle to move their syphilitic limbs.You know I keep you around for the Comic relief and to hoover up all the stray branes. You're pretty fucking funny for a cranky zombie.

  14. because talented people are never satisfied.OTOH, I am easily satisfied.Oh, stop. But, ya know, it goes beyond that. Sometimes I just have to straight-up acknowledge that there are people out there doing WAY NEATER stuff than I am.

  15. The true artist is a revolutionary, never satisfied & always ready to tear it down & start again.True artists are also obsessed w/ all their output. For example, if one thoroughly examines one's boogers post-picking, one is an artist.As for the zombie: "Damming the beaver."Also: "We set them up that way so that can actually turn them off during certain hours so that kids can't come down and be hiding out from their parents," Hutchison said of the common spaces.Fascism. Leave the youth alone!!

  16. True artists are also obsessed w/ all their output. For example, if one thoroughly examines one's boogers post-picking, one is an artist.My boogers are beautiful. Architectural in nature, almost.

Leave a Reply

