COOTIE

We’ve had some fam in from exciting places. Like Canada! And Arkansas (where Taxi Driver and Das Boot were filmed)!

HIGHLIGHTS:

  • Making the word “COOTIE” while playing Scrabble. Did I win? No. But isn’t making the word “COOTIE” a victory in and of itself?
  • Catching up with my stepsister
  • Meeting my nephew, who is autistic and has a severe speech impairment, but is the sweetest, cutest, most good-natured little guy
  • Taking people out to this shoreside restaurant:

Does anyone know what kind of snake that is?
Also too: that is not my voice; that is my stepsister’s voice.

LOWLIGHTS:

  • Having your kitchen invaded by several folks and especially one who has–let’s say–a very muscular presence. No, by all means, put all your food in our refrigerator, so there’s no room for ANYTHING. And be underfoot every single goddamn minute of the day while I’m so exhausted I can barely stand & am trying to play hostess.  And PLEASE do make 14 eggs worth of scrambled eggs, so that when I come home from the hospital I cannot make everyone eggs to order which is what I planned. And DO eat the baguette I was saving to eat specifically with that cheese I special-bought yesterday while you were off buying organic half and half, even though I have half and half at home.  *bangs head on desk*

UPDATE LOWLIGHT: Showing your framed nursery art to family and being told–amid chuckles–that your stuff is “no offense–kinda creepy.”

Actual quote: “Are you afraid that will scare the baby?”
    21 thoughts on “COOTIE

    1. This Is Just To SayI have eatenthe baguetteand the cheesein your kitchenand whichyou were probablysavingfor after we left.Forgive methey were deliciousand I loveto piss you off.(somebody was going to do it)

    2. Does anyone know what kind of snake that is?It's hard to tell, but it looks delicious! I wonder if it's a black rat snakeHaving your kitchen invaded by several folks and especially one who has–let's say–a very muscular presence.Sha'n't… be… back…On a lighter note, the towns of Dumfries and Manassas are planning to merge, forming a larger town called Dumassas.

    3. It probably will scare the baby, in maybe four years time. Good thing too. They deserve it. And I hate other people in MY kitchen. But because I have big scary knives, they don't come in there. Not more than once, anyway, and not with all their fingers.

    4. that your stuff is "no offense–kinda creepy."They imply that's a bad thing?Ahhh, fuck 'em. Young Zombie preferred Nightmare Before Christmas to Disney crap, and good on him, I say.Of course, Imma zombie, so what do I know?I will just go away again.

    5. WC, you demure when you say you're not a poet. "On a lighter note, the towns of Dumfries and Manassas are planning to merge, forming a larger town called Dumassas."The way people drive around here? Appropriate.

    6. "Ahhh, fuck 'em. Young Zombie preferred Nightmare Before Christmas to Disney crap, and good on him, I say."Yes, Tim Burton is a big influence, which they mentioned. I guess I don't find his stuff creepy. Maybe I am warped.

    7. I'm still trying to figure out what's WRONG with scaring the baby?We live in a world with guns and trains and diseases and nuclear fucking weapons.As adults, we operate from a place of low-level ongoing terror from the time the alarm clock wrenches us out of our dreams of effectiveness and self esteem to the time we manage to intoxicate ourselves with rum and weed and television and Lincecum sufficiently to return to those aforementioned dreams.The little fucker needs to learn fear, and learn that you stand, and fight, and as long as you never stop fighting you can't lose.But that lesson, important as it is, doesn't mean we're not afraid, all the time…

    8. Sirius, if he's anything like me he will EMBRACE THE DARKNESS.I figure as long as you don't hang pictures of Glenn Beck or Rushbo in the nursery (and we'd have to report you to social services if you did) any kid of yours will be fine. However, you should know that the jig is up, we all now know that the babies REAL name is Tintin.

    Leave a Reply

    