Good Things I Put in My Body

I’ve been tired lately, really tired. I’ve also been under the weather. So I haven’t been cooking as much as I’d like. I have a big problem with processed foods and fast foods. That’s not to say I never eat them. I do. I just try to avoid them as much as is possible. But the fact is they can’t always be avoided…which is why I feel so good when I can put something in my body that I know is great for me (especially now…for obvious reasons).

I recently made this Thai Red Curry Mahi Mahi Salad. I cannot recommend this recipe more highly. It is not authentically Thai, of course. But it hits most of of those notes that one associates with Thai food. And, damn, fish and salad–does it get it more healthy than that?

It’s super-easy to make, and the list of ingredients is not too overwhelming. (If it were authentically Thai, it would be.)

Ingredients

  • 1 13.5-ounce can coconut milk
  • 1 tablespoon red curry paste
  • 1 1/4 pounds skinned mahi mahi fillet, dark flesh trimmed
  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice, plus lime wedges for garnish
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Asian chili sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 head Boston lettuce, leaves separated
  • 1 bunch watercress, woody stems removed
  • 1 Kirby cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 3 scallions, white and green parts, thinly sliced
  • 1 red or yellow bell pepper, stemmed, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro or mint
  • 1 handful roasted peanuts or cashews

I did not serve it as a composed salad, I kinda mixed everything together. ‘Cuz, yeah, why waste this amazing blend of flavors?


TRY THIS RECIPE!

Another thing I made recently was sort of a everything-but-the-kitchen-sink-fish-packet. I had a couple of swordfish fillets in my freezer and wanted to make an easy dinner, so I just seasoned them with salt and pepper and piled the following Mediterranean-ish ingredients on top of them:

Thinly-sliced onions
Thinly-sliced red bell pepper
Halved grape tomatoes
Green olives
Capers
Thinly-sliced garlic
Thinly-sliced lemon slices
Fresh basil, mint and thyme

I seasoned everything up again, then sprinkled everything with lemon juice and plenty of olive oil. I closed up the foil packet (parchment can also be used) and put the whole kit and kaboodle in a 375 degree oven for 25 minutes. I served it over polenta. It was incredibly yummy, and, again, I felt so good about it eating it. Great thing about this recipe? It’s just an outline. You can pretty much do this with any combo of fish/veggies/herbs/liquids.Try white wine or orange juice. Try julienned carrots and zucchini. Serve it over rice or noodles instead of polenta. Really the only thing limiting you is your fridge and pantry.

On a completely separate topic: I’m gonna be so pissed if the comment count of this entry doesn’t go to 100. Come on, people! Let’s make it happen! Lawd, I love a chatty zombie for kick-starting a convo!

61 thoughts on “Good Things I Put in My Body

  1. Wow that looks delicious! But also more work than I'm likely to do in my own house.Here's a similar concept** (fish + spinach + avocado + mango, all tastes that go together, at least for me), but it's easier to accomplish for lazy people like moi.**Healthwise, not Thai cooking-wise. One thing I like to add that isn't shown in the post is a packet of dried red chiles such as you might get from a pizza place.~

  2. I hate to be raining on your parade but the limit for fish is two average sized servings per week. I'm not a big fan of salad but thatrecipe does look pretty yummy.re: swordfish – I'm surprised that the foil and acid didn't mess up your dinner. I always bake my fish in parchment (usually pages ripped from first editions) because I've been brainwashed to think that aluminum and fish is a no-no.

  3. I've been limiting my fish intake, so no worries, DK-W. As to fish and foil, I think that's ok. Foil and acids, notsomuch. But my head is up my ass these days…still the fish turned out great.

  4. Here's a similar concept** (fish + spinach + avocado + mango, all tastes that go together, at least for me), but it's easier to accomplish for lazy people like moi.That sounds delicious too. I'd probably dice up the mango and lessen the amount because I am squeamish about mixing fruits with savory flavors (aside from tomatoes and avocados, of course). But, yeah, that definitely sounds delicious and nutritious.

  5. Your headline created an expectation that your content did not fulfill.Also DKW's comment did not contain any of the offers and suggestions I was expecting.

  6. BTW, totally, and I mean TOTALLY OT…but yesterday I had to attend this Pentagon-adjacent baby shower…and the food came out. So naturally I started eating. And all of a sudden, the woman sitting next to me says something about "blessing the food." So then this colonel comes and sits next to me and says this prayer and thanks Jesus for the food and my baby and stuff. I felt so ambushed. I never know what to do in these sorts of situations. Because I know people mean well. I'm just always amazed at the presumptuousness of religious people, though. I wanted to be like "Listen, people. I'm not here pray. I'm here to eat, collect my loot and get the hell out of here."

  7. I never know what to do in these sorts of situations. at the end, make the devil horns and say "FUCK yeah! Hail Satan!" and start grabbing food with your bare hands.Sure, it'll be tense for a while, but they won't do it again.

  8. No foil on tomatoes either, or anything acidic!I am about to dump salmon in a bowl & mix it w/ whatever condiments are in the refrig. door & some onions.You'll feel better soon, except for the sleep deprivation!

  9. "I would have thought you were well past the morning-sickness stage."I guess impromptu religiosity makes me feel funny in my tummy. (Also, I laughed. Your joke success rate has got to be near 100%.)

  10. Ok, first of all. Is Antonis Achilleos your next door neighbor? Do you run over there and pound on the door and explain breathlessly to Debbie Achilleos that Anotonis just HAS to come over and take a photo of your fish, and he's got to hurry because it's HOT now?Or maybe you keep Antonis in your hall closet with the golf clubs and if THAT'S the case, it does seem odd you give him credit for the photo. But completely fair.Couple of South Bay contributions. If you have a righteous little Indian market in your neighborhood, get them to blend you up some REAL garam masala and you'll find that, along with some good curry powder you can make those pouches magic any time. Also, get a bottle of ghee from them, it's hard to get right on the stove and why bother anyway? Use it in the pouch, along with a fruity white wine (when that is, once again, an option) and you'll find yourself, like a babe wallabee, in pouch heaven…

  11. I actually think my grocery store sells ghee! And I've been meaning to get some…" Anotonis just HAS to come over and take a photo of your fish, and he's got to hurry because it's HOT now?"this made me chuckle. One of these days Debbie is sure to get the wrong idea.

  12. re: fatherhood and gentlemanly waysI'll have all y'all know that I am a perfect gentleman. In teh sack. So says your moms. w/v says rednes – and that's troo, it is a bit sore from all the boinkings.Then again, maybe teh lack of sleep is just making me too tired.Anyways, let me apologize for being so cavalierly remiss and ameliorate teh situation ASAP.I've got a good thing to put in your body. Hint, it's in my pants.

  13. Elmira's Scale of Dragon Sauerkraut I didn't have a name for this goop so my boyfriend's friend named it the Mother of All Wango Tangos. It is. Make sure to get a big glass of milk. Ingredients: 1 pinch scorpion 1 creepy scale of dragon 1 apricot, stirred 7 gallons occasional coffinfish tentacle 1 pound thyme 1 pinch Teemarcene Fulfopr's Pepper The second thing you are going to want to do is let the scorpion soften. I recommend cutting it into large PENISES to let it soften quicker. Then you are going to roll the apricot with the scale of dragon out onto a 5 X 14 (roughly) cookie sheet. Bake the dough at 181 Celsius. YOU MUST LET THIS STOP WIGGLING BEFORE PUTTING ANYTHING ON TOP OF IT. Let it cool for at least 1/2 hour. You can chop up whatever's handy while waiting for it to cool and make the scorpion center. For the center, mix the coffinfish and the scorpion. You can use Charlesxoyr Carina's shrimp heart but coffinfish is better for this recipe as you want more of a taste. Mix it with a blender until it is very creamy and there are no lumps. Then add in the thyme to the scorpion mix. Spread the scorpion mix over the cooled apricot bottom. I recommend putting it in dollups over the dough, so you can spread it around easier. Try not to touch the apricot bottom as you are spreading it. The reason why the apricot bottom has to be very cool is because otherwise it will start to lift up as you are spreading the apricot. Make sure to get all spots where the apricot shows. After this is done, sprinkle the thyme on top. Don't try cutting it until you have let it cool in the refrigerator for at least an hour. Before putting it in the refrigerator though, run a knife over the outside of the whole thing, so it is easier to get out later. If you try cutting it into slices before it is cool, the apricot and the scorpion will run along the knife with you.

  14. You can chop up whatever's handy while waiting for it to cool…I keep thinking that I need a cooking show on teevee, and substance has GOT to be the producer.We're talking RATINGS people. Ratings and felonies…

  15. The Dorm Room Gourmet's CookbookBeer and a Bag of ChipsCrack open a beer and a bag of chips.Duck a l'OrangeCrack open a beer and a bag of chips.Beef WellingtonCrack open a beer and a bag of chips.Croque-en-BoucheCrack open a beer and a bag of chips.Crawfish EtouffeCrack open a beer and a bag of chips.Pad Woon SenCrack open a beer and a bag of chips.

  16. I couldn't find Antonis anywhere, so I had to do this myselfWhen Antonis is unavaillabe I just call on Chris Achilleos. (I would have linked to his official website, but my workplace browser says it is in the "adult category" and since they apparently don't think there are any adults working here it is blocked)

  17. First of all, Substance is never allowed in my kitchen. EVER. I didn't have a name for this goop so my boyfriend's friendSecondly, I had no idea Substance has a boyfriend. Not that there's anything wrong with that. And, mikey, I would watch that show.

  18. VS:I hatez you forever for showing me a link to manboobz.HATE HATE HATE.it's so horribly disgustingly addicting. Like if troofy mated with Ann Althouse, but stupider.I can't turn away. It's horrible. I blame you. expect an invoice for my lost productive time.

  19. I can't turn away. It's horrible. I blame you. expect an invoice for my lost productive time. You transfer your hate right on over to Another Kiwi. He's the one who pointed me to it. I actually have to limit my time at the site, because I alternate because wanting to laugh, cry and vomit whenever I read the insane rantings of the MRA's.

Leave a Reply

