Lost file. I feel like I want to die.

I have been working on a piece for a client for the past 3 days. It was turning out so amazingly. I loved it. I haven’t been excited about anything I’ve made in a long time. I tried to open the file to finish it today and got this message: Could not complete your request because an unexpected end-of-file was encountered. I’ve been Googling this and it looks like I’m screwed. Hours and hours and hours of work down the drain. I don’t know what to do. I’m frantic.

If anyone can help me, I’d be eternally grateful.

 BTW, I’m using Photoshop on a Mac.

32 thoughts on “Lost file. I feel like I want to die.

  1. Does PShop have an auto save feature? I know my CAD program does, and it has saved my ass a couple of times when I got the same message.You just have to look for the location of the auto-saves.Also, try a disc utility on the HD where you save things. I have managed to get files back using Data Rescue once or twice.Otherwise, that sucks. I have also had to re-create things, when non of the above worked.

  2. No, zrm, I do not. Thanks, guys, for responding so quickly. I tried everything. Nothing worked. Crying helped. It was cathartic. I'll start all over in a couple of days.

  3. Interestingly (?) Photoshop only started acting funky after Mr. Slayer did his taxes on the computer and downloaded an H&R Block tax form PDF onto the desktop. Probably unrelated, but the timing's weird. *sigh*

  4. I can't help you with these new-fangled computer gizmos, I'm afraid. I once lost an enormous sphagtti BASIC program back when we'd switched from the Apple IIe to the PC XT. I was eventually able to recover it all by rejoining segments on the hard drive. I doubt that it works this way any more, said the old geezer.~

  5. VS,Go to your APPLICATIONS folder, find UTILITIES and open DISK UTILITY.Follow instructions, repair permissions, etc.This might do the trick as it sounds like a directory issue.Also, try dragging that H&R Block file to the trash and restart your Mac. This disables it temporarily, but you can still retrieve it later.This should tell you if it really was the issue.

  6. *hug*I am so, so sorry. I know it's not the same thing (it's easier to recreate an essay than it is a creative work), but when I was doing my comps, I lost not one, but TWO incomplete papers that were 4-5 pages and due in less than twelve hours. I cried, too.I also lost some minutes I was transcribing last week when I was almost done with them, and MY GOD I HATE TYPING MINUTES.But I know you've been feeling some lack of creative energy lately, and that doesn't come easy. Maybe you'll be able to make something you like even better out of all of this frustration and disappointment.

  7. *hugs* Thanks so much for the words of support. Yes, maybe something good will come of this. I take some comfort from knowing that the second time around will go a bit faster than the first time around, because I have the who composition memorized. It's just a matter of getting up the courage to dive back in.

  8. FINAL UPDATE: There's not gonna be a miracle save. It's not the end of the world, just a huge pain in the ass. But, who knows, maybe I'll make something even better now. Sssshhh. I have to keep telling myself that.I'm just bummed I never had a chance to ask for fish' fin in marriage. Which I was totally planning on doing if he saved my butt. It's legal to marry a man and a fish in this state, no matter what Santorum says.

  9. MY GOD I HATE TYPING MINUTES.Right?Somehow my contract on this last project calls for me to transcribe meeting minutes for the bi-monthly site meetings. And then nobody ever reads em anyway.So fuck 'em, I record the meetings, so I can blackmail them all later.Next contract, if there is one, that damn meeting minute clause gets struck out when I get it back from the lawyers.Also, VS, I can recommend looking into getting yourself a Time Capsule. Using a Mac, it makes automated backups a snap.

Leave a Reply

